News & Media

By the Numbers: Texas

October 30, 2013, Staff report,

Take a look back at the race and track history with some noteworthy numbers

Track: Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, Texas is a 1.5-mile, paved surface with 24-degree banking in all four turns. There is 5-degree banking in both the frontstretch or backstretch. The frontstretch is 2,250 feet and the backstretch is 1,330 feet.

Time/TV: The AAA Texas 500 (334 laps), 3:00 p.m. ET, Sunday, Nov. 3 TV: ESPN (coverage starts at 2 p.m. ET), Radio: PRN

Trailblazers:  The track’s first Sprint Cup Series race was on April 6, 1997 and won by Jeff Burton. The first NASCAR national series race at the track was a Nationwide Series event won by Mark Martin, the day before.

0.028  seconds, the margin of victory when Elliott Sadler beat Kasey Kahne to the checkered flag (April 4, 2004), the closest at the track since the advent of electronic scoring.

1 Sprint Cup driver has won with two different manufacturers (Jeff Burton -- 1997 with Ford, 2007 with Chevrolet).

2   times the winner of the Texas Motor Speedway Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup race has gone on to win the championship. Jimmie Johnson (in 2007) and Tony Stewart (in 2011) accomplished that feat. Johnson, Stewart and Carl Edwards are tied for the series' Chase wins at the track with two.
2   drivers posted their first Sprint Cup Series Coors Light Poles at Texas Motor Speedway: David Ragan (April 9, 2011) and Martin Truex Jr. (Nov. 4, 2007)

2   female drivers have competed in Sprint Cup Series events at Texas Motor Speedway: Danica Patrick and Shawna Robinson.

3  is the starting position that has produced the most wins (four).

drivers have made all 25 starts in the history of the track (Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte, Burton and Mark Martin).

drivers have multiple wins at Texas Motor Speedway: Edwards (three), Greg Biffle, Burton, Denny Hamlin, Johnson, Matt Kenseth and Stewart each have two.

8 is the number of Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup races that have been run at Texas. Sunday will mark the ninth Chase race at Texas. Texas Motor Speedway was not on the 2004 Chase schedule. 

8.750  is the series-best average starting position held by Johnson (only active driver with an average starting position in the top 10).

drivers from Texas have won at least one race in NASCAR's three national series (Terry Labonte, Bobby Labonte, A.J. Foyt, Billy Wade, Bobby Hillin Jr., Johnny Rutherford, James Buescher, David Starr and Colin Braun).

9   is the best average running position (Kenseth).

9.25  is the average finish by the eventual series champion at Texas. 

16    is the number of races Jeff Gordon participated in before winning (spring 2009), the longest span of any of the 15 active Sprint Cup winners in Fort Worth.

18    drivers have poles at Texas (Dale Earnhardt Jr., Gordon, Bobby Labonte, Ryan Newman and Truex Jr. all have two).

21    races have been run without Kevin Harvick posting a DNF.

23    is the age of the youngest pole winner (Brian Vickers at 23 years, 0 months, 12 days on Nov. 5, 2006).

25    is the age of the youngest winner (Newman, at 25 years, 3 months, 22 days on March 30, 2003).

31    is the deepest in the field that a race winner has started (Kenseth in 2002).


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

34    Cup races have been held in Texas (Texas Motor Speedway; Meyer Speedway, a former half-mile asphalt track in Houston; Texas World Speedway, a 2-mile track in College Station).

38   is the worst finish by an eventual series champion at Texas Motor Speedway. Johnson finished 38th in 2009 and was still in the lead of the Chase standings following the race. 

44    is the age of the oldest winner (NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee Dale Jarrett at 44 years, 4 months, 6 days on April 1, 2001).

46    is the age of the oldest pole winner (Bill Elliott at 46 years, 6 months, 0 days on April 8, 2002).

79    drivers have called Texas home.

99    is the only car number to produce three or more wins (Burton -- 1997; Edwards -- sweeps in 2005, 2008).

106.5    Matt Kenseth's driver rating at Texas, a series best.

132    drivers have competed in at least one Cup race at Texas.

196.299    miles per hour is the track qualifying record set by Kyle Busch on April 13, 2013. Busch went on to win the race.

334    laps (501 miles) is the length of the race.

458    is the number of fastest laps run by Greg Biffle, a series high.

707    is the highest number of quality passes, held by Earnhardt Jr.

772    laps have been led at Texas by Kenseth, the most by any driver (22 starts).

1995    construction began on Texas Motor Speedway.

2011    was the first night race when the Sunday race was moved to Saturday night.