News & Media

By the Numbers: Phoenix

November 06, 2013, Staff report,

Take a look back at the track history with some noteworthy numbers

Track: Phoenix International Raceway in Phoenix, Ariz. is a 1-mile, paved surface with 10-to-11-degree banking in Turns 1 and 2 and 8-to-9-degree banking in Turns 3 and 4. There are 3-degrees of banking in the frontstretch and 8-to-9-degrees of banking backstretch. The frontstretch is 1,179 feet and the backstretch is 1,551 feet.

Time/TV: The AdvoCare 500 (312 laps), 3:00 p.m. ET, Sunday, Nov. 10 TV: ESPN (coverage starts at 2 p.m. ET), Radio: MRN

Trailblazers:  The track’s first Sprint Cup Series race was on Nov. 6, 1988 and won by Alan Kulwicki. The track's first night race was held on April, 23, 2005 and won by Kurt Busch.

.13  is the closest margin of victory recorded at Phoenix since the advent of electronic scoring. Ryan Newman beat Jeff Gordon to the start/finish line in April 2010 at the Subway Fresh Fit 600, breaking his 77-race winless streak.

1 is the number of repaves at the track. It was done during a six-month period in 2011.

2 drivers have won their first career Coors Light Pole at Phoenix: Denny Hamlin (Nov. 2005) and AJ Allmendinger (April 2010).

2 times a non-Chase contender has won the Phoenix Chase race: Kyle Busch (2005) and Kasey Kahne (2011).

2 times the eventual champion has not held the points lead after the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Phoenix.

3 consecutive poles won by Newman, from 2002-2004. His four poles are the most in track history.

3 times the winner of the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Phoenix has gone on to win the championship. All three times it was Jimmie Johnson (2007 to 2009).

3.7 is the average finish in the Phoenix Chase race by the eventual series champion.

4 wins at Phoenix by Jimmie Johnson is the most among all drivers.
4 times the race winner at Phoenix has won from the pole position.
6.4 is the average finish of Jimmie Johnson at Phoenix, which leads the series.


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

8 drivers have won more than once at Phoenix -- Johnson (four), Kevin Harvick and Davey Allison (three), Jeff Burton, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon and Mark Martin (two apiece).

9 is the number of times Phoenix has been part of the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. The track has been a part of the playoff since its inception in 2004. Sunday's race will mark the 10th Chase event the track has hosted.

16 is the number of times Jeff Gordon raced at Phoenix before his first win in April of 2007.

17 is the finishing position of Danica Patrick in last year's fall race. Patrick is the only female to have made a Cup start at the track.

19 is the number of different Coors Light Pole winners at Phoenix.
20 is the age of the youngest winner at Phoenix. Kyle Busch was 20 years, six months and 11 days old when he won in Nov. 2005.

21 is the number of top-10 finishes for Mark Martin, more than any other driver.

29 is the starting position of race-winner Ricky Rudd in 1995, the furthest back an eventual winner has started.

29 is also the number of times Bobby Labonte has started a Cup Series race at Phoenix without visiting Victory Lane.

31 drivers in NASCAR national series history have their home state recorded as Arizona.

34 is the number of Sprint Cup Series races at Phoenix, one per season from 1984-2004 and two in each season since.

50 is the age of the oldest winner at Phoenix, Mark Martin, who was 50 years, three months and nine days old when he won in April 2009.

53 is the age of the oldest pole winner -- Mark Martin, at the 2013 Subway Fresh Fit 500.

116.4 is the driver rating for Jimmie Johnson at Phoenix since 2005 (over a span of 17 races).

123.203 was Geoffrey Bodine's speed when he won the first pole at Phoenix in 1988.

138.766 serves as the track record for qualifying, set by Kyle Busch in November of 2012.

150.0 is a perfect driver rating that has been recorded twice at Phoenix -- Kurt Busch in April 2005 and Kevin Harvick in November 2006.

185 drivers have competed in at least one Sprint Cup Series race at Phoenix.


READ: Johnson ahead
of Kenseth after Texas

READ: Gordon's Chase hopes
fall with wreck

WATCH: Hendrick isn't
celebrating yet

WATCH: Drivers sound
off after Texas