News & Media

NASCAR Hall of Fame 2014 voting panel members

November 14, 2013,

Fans included as one ballot among 55 voters for the 2014 class


The 54-member NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel is made up of 21 members of the nominating committee and 34 members of the voting panel. It is made up of representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame, track owners from major facilities and historic short tracks, media members, manufacturer representatives, retired competitors (drivers, owners, crew chiefs), recognized industry leaders and a nationwide fan vote conducted through – which accounts for the 55th and final vote.

WHAT: Hall of Fame Voting Day
WHERE: Charlotte (N.C.) Convention Center
WHO VOTES: 21 members of Nominating Committee and 33 members of Voting Panel. In addition, one vote is generated by fan input.
WHO WAS CHOSEN: Tim Flock, Jack Ingram, Dale Jarrett, Maurice Petty and Fireball Roberts
WHEN THE 2014 INDUCTEES WILL BE INDUCTED: Wednesday, January 29, 2014 (Live television coverage provided by FOX Sports 1)

Nominating Committee (21):

NASCAR Hall of Fame (2)
1. Winston Kelley, Executive Director
2. Buz McKim, Historian

NASCAR officials (8)
1. Brian France, Chairman and CEO
2. Jim France, Vice Chairman
3. Mike Helton, President
4. Robin Pemberton, Vice President of Competition
5. Paul Brooks, former Senior Vice President
6. Steve O’Donnell, Senior Vice President of Racing Operations
7. Jerry Cook, Competition Administrator
8. Ken Clapp, former Vice President

ISC (2)
1. Lesa Kennedy, CEO
2. Clay Campbell, Martinsville Speedway President

SMI (2)
1. Ed Clark, Atlanta Motor Speedway President
2. Eddie Gossage, Texas Motor Speedway President

IMS (1)
1. Tony George, former Indianapolis Motor Speedway owner

Dover (1)

1. Denis McGlynn, Dover Motorsports CEO

Pocono (1)
2. Looie McNally, Pocono Raceway board of directors

Historic short track operators – one representative from each track (4)
1. Bowman Gray operator – Dale Pinilis
2. Rockford Speedway operator – Jody Deery
3. Riverhead Speedway operator – Jim/Barbara Cromarty (1 vote)
4. Kingsport Speedway operator – Robert Pressley

Voting Panel (34)

National Motorsports Press Association (1)

1. Kenny Bruce, NMPA President

Eastern Motorsports Press Association (1)
1. Ron Hedger, EMPA President

American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters (1)
1. Dusty Brandel, AARWB President

Print & Online Media (6)
1. Bob Pockrass, Sporting News
2. Dustin Long,
3. Nate Ryan, USA Today Sports
4. Jim Pedley,
5. Jenna Fryer, Associated Press
6. Al Pearce, Autoweek

Broadcasters (7)
1. Mike Joy, FOX
2. Kyle Petty, TNT
3. Dr. Jerry Punch, ESPN
4. Barney Hall, MRN
5. Doug Rice, PRN
6. Rick Allen, FOX Sports 1
7. Dave Moody, Sirius XM

Manufacturers (3)
1. Jim Campbell, Chevrolet
2. Edsel Ford, Ford
3. Lee White, Toyota

Former Drivers (4)
1. Ricky Rudd
2. Harry Gant
3. Ned Jarrett
4. Richard Petty

Former Owners (3)
1. Bud Moore
2. Junior Johnson
3. Robert Yates

Former Crew Chiefs (3)
1. Buddy Parrott
2. Waddell Wilson
3. Eddie Wood

NASCAR Community Leaders
1. Mike Harris
2. Tom Higgins
3. Humpy Wheeler
4. Ken Squier

Fan Vote (1)


READ: Homestead
Weekend Schedule

READ: Power Rankings:
Busch, Gordon out

READ: Bayne diagnosed
with multiple sclerosis

READ: Earnhardt
lacking a win