News & Media

Sprint Cup driver roster for Preseason Thunder

January 07, 2014, Staff report,

Two days of testing for Sprint Cup Series begin on Thursday at Daytona

RELATED: Complete Preseason Thunder schedule

Preseason Thunder gets underway on Thursday with the first of two days of testing for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers at Daytona International Speedway.

Team Penske, Richard Childress Racing, Stewart-Haas Racing, Hendrick Motorsports, Michael Waltrip Racing, Roush Fenway Racing and Joe Gibbs Racing are among the organizations participating in the two days of Sprint Cup testing.

Tony Stewart will not be testing for Stewart-Haas Racing in the No. 14 Chevrolet as he continues to recover from a broken right leg. Mark Martin will test the car for him at Daytona.

Brian Vickers will also not be at Preseason Thunder. Vickers had his 2013 season cut short when a blood clot was found in his right leg. The Michael Waltrip Racing driver's No. 55 Toyota will be tested by team co-owner Michael Waltrip.

Justin Allgaier and Bobby Labonte will be testing for Phoenix Racing. Labonte will be driving for Phoenix Racing in the Daytona 500.

Ryan Truex and Alex Bowman will be testing for BK Racing. The organization recently parted ways with David Reutimann.

Among the organizations to not take part in Preseason Thunder: JTG Daugherty Racing, Furniture Row Racing, Front Row Motorsports and Phil Parsons Racing.

The NASCAR Nationwide Series will have their sessions on Saturday and Sunday and the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will have its sessions on Monday and Tuesday.

Below is the full roster of drivers participating in the two days of Sprint Cup Series testing.

Car # Team Driver
1 Ganassi Jamie McMurray
2 Penske Brad Keselowski, Rusty Wallace
3 RCR Austin Dillon
4 SHR Kevin Harvick
5 HMS Kasey Kahne
7 TBR Michael Annett
9 RPM Marcos Ambrose
10 SHR Danica Patrick
11 JGR Denny Hamlin
13 Germain Casey Mears
14 SHR Mark Martin
15 MWR Clint Bowyer
16 RFR Greg Biffle
17 RFR Ricky Stenhouse
18 JGR Kyle Busch
20 JGR Matt Kenseth
21 WBR Trevor Bayne
22 Penske Joey Logano
24 HMS Jeff Gordon
26 Swan Cole Whitt
27 RCR Paul Menard, Matt Crafton
30 Swan Parker Kligerman
31 RCR Ryan Newman
32 FAS Reed Sorenson
33 RCR Brian Scott
40 Hillman Landon Cassill
41 SHR Kurt Busch
42 Ganassi Kyle Larson
43 RPM Aric Almirola
48 HMS Jimmie Johnson
51 Phoenix Justin Allgaier
52 Phoenix Bobby Labonte
55 MWR Michael Waltrip
77 R Humphrey
Dave Blaney
83 BKR Alex Bowman
87 Nemco Joe Nemechek
88 HMS Dale Earnhardt, Jr
93 BKR Ryan Truex
95 Leavine Michael McDowell
99 RFR Carl Edwards
152 in 2013 B Keselowski Brian Keselowski
47   JTG - not testing
78   Furniture Row - not testing
34, 35, 36, 38   Front Row - not testing
98   Phil Parsons - not testing


READ: Year in Review
driver profiles

READ: A season defined
by a night in Richmond

READ: Top 10 on-track
moves of 2013

WATCH: Handing out the
2013 Loopie Awards