News & Media

Kevin Harvick tops both Saturday Cup practices

March 01, 2014, Staff report,

Stewart-Haas Racing driver has strong runs in both Phoenix practices

Sprint Cup Series second practice (Results)

Kevin Harvick logged 42 laps in the first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series practice session Saturday, including the fastest one.

At the 1-mile Phoenix International Raceway oval, Harvick paced the field early with a speed of 137.757 mph in his No. 4 Chevrolet in advance of Sunday's The Profit on CNBC 500 presented by Small Business Fueling America (3 p.m. ET Sunday, FOX).

Harvick was the only driver to break the 137-mph barrier. Jamie McMurray was second in his No. 1 Chevy with a speed of 136.830 mph, just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates teammate Kyle Larson, who was third with the exact same speed of 136.830 mph.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. was fourth with a speed of 136.664 mph, with Team Penske driver Brad Keselowski's Ford fifth at 136.638 mph.

Kasey Kahne and Tony Stewart were sixth and seventh, respectively, giving Chevrolet drivers six of the top seven spots. Kyle Busch was the fastest Toyota, coming in 11th (136.343 mph).

Sprint Cup Series final practice session (Results)

Harvick continued his strong run by topping the final Sprint Cup Series practice session at Phoenix. Harvick ran 29 laps in the final session, posting a top speed of 136.960 mph.

Larson was also strong in the final practice, coming in second on the speed charts at 136.596 mph. Ryan Newman placed third with a speed of 136.508 mph. Kurt Busch (136.503 mph) and Jeff Gordon (136.374 mph) rounded out the top five in the final practice.

The top seven cars in the final practice were all Chevrolets. Joey Logano was the fastest Ford, coming in eighth, while Brian Vickers was the fastest Toyota, coming in ninth.

Reed Sorenson spun in the early minutes of the final practice session following a tap from Marcos Ambrose and suffered a little damage to the right front of his No. 36 Chevrolet.

On Friday, the Sprint Cup Series completed its first qualifying effort under the new multicar format.

Team Penske teammates Keselowski and Logano will start on the front row after qualifying 1-2, with Keselowski earning his first career Coors Light Pole Award at the 1-mile track.

McMurray will start third, with Hendrick Motorsports teammates Jimmie Johnson and Earnhardt Jr. in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Click here to see the complete lineup.


READ: Earnhardt Jr. wins
wild Daytona 500

WATCH: Dale Jr.
in Victory Lane

WATCH: Danica, a dozen
others in Daytona pileup

READ: Official Daytona 500
race results