News & Media

Larson wins first Coors Light Pole Award

March 15, 2014, Staff report,

Twenty-one-year-old bests pair of Joe Gibbs Racing cars to earn pole at Bristol

Kyle Larson earned his first career Coors Light Pole Award after topping the field in Nationwide Series qualifying at Bristol Motor Speedway on Saturday.

Larson's top speed of 124.476 mph -- achieved on his second lap -- was enough to edge Joe Gibbs Racing's Kyle Busch and Matt Kenseth, who notched best speeds of 124.307 and 124.186, respectively. Brian Scott will start alongside Kenseth, achieving the fourth-best speed at 123.594.

Team Penske's Ryan Blaney (123.308) and JR Motorsports' Kevin Harvick (123.197) will start fifth and sixth, respectively.

In what was the first-ever group qualifying on a track this size, the event was halted for a brief period with less than three minutes remaining when 18-year-old rookie Dylan Kwasniewski spun and hit the wall hard. He finished 11th after running a top speed of 121.228.


READ: Latest

WATCH: Latest
NASCAR video

Fantasy Live

Get RaceView