News & Media

Elliott Sadler wins Coors Light Pole Award

March 22, 2014, Staff report,

Kyle Busch to start at the back of the field after tech issues in qualifying

MORE: Lineup for 300

Elliott Sadler won the Coors Light Pole Award for the 300 with his qualifying speed of 176.991 mph in the final round of the knockout-style qualifying.

This is the Sadler's first Coors Light Pole Award of the season and his first since October of 2012 at Charlotte.


View all articles
View all videos
View all photos

Kyle Busch, a winner of two Nationwide Series races this season and the winner of six of the past eight races at Fontana, did not make it out for qualifying. Busch's car failed the technical inspection several times with issues involving wheel studs and the skew of the vehicle from a rear axle housing issue. He will start at the back of the field for the race.

Matt Kenseth (176.948 mph), the Coors Light Pole Award winner for Sunday's Sprint Cup Series race, will join his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate on the front row for the 300 (5 p.m. ET, ESPN) at Auto Club Speedway.

Rookie Ty Dillon will start third (176.696 mph), with Joey Logano starting fourth (176.687 mph) and rookie Chase Elliott rounding out the top five (176.579 mph).

Points leader Regan Smith will start 11th (175.756 mph). Smith holds a one point lead in the series over Trevor Bayne.


READ: Latest

WATCH: Latest
NASCAR video

Fantasy Live

Get RaceView