News & Media

Snapshot: Las Vegas preview

March 09, 2014, Kenny Bruce,

Catch up quickly before Sunday's running of the Kobalt 400

RELATED: Weekend schedule | Race lineup | Follow Vegas coverage

What: 17th annual Kobalt 400
: Las Vegas Motor Speedway
: Today
: FOX Sports, PRN (3 p.m. ET)
: 267 laps; 400.5 miles
Avg. Time of Race
: 2 hr., 52 min.

Pit Road Speed: 45 mph
Caution Car Speed
: 55 mph

On The Front Row
1. Joey Logano, Team Penske No. 22 Ford (193.278 mph)
2. Brad Keselowski, Team Penske No. 2 Ford (193.099 mph)

Team Penske Sweep, Again: For the second consecutive week, Team Penske drivers swept the front two starting spots. A week ago in Phoenix, Keselowski won the Coors Light Pole while Logano was the No. 2 qualifier.

Bye-Bye Track Record: Twenty-three drivers broke the existing track qualifying record of 190.456 mph set by Kasey Kahne in 2012.

Going Deep: Matt Kenseth won the 2004 race after starting 25th, officially deepest in the field for a race winner.

Front To Back To Front: The race has been won by the pole winner only once (Kyle Busch, 2009) in 16 races. Although Busch officially started on the pole, due to an engine change he dropped to the rear of the field before the race got underway.

Failed To Qualify
Blake Koch, Landon Cassill, Dave Blaney, Joe Nemechek, J.J. Yeley

Defending Race Champion
Matt Kenseth, Joe Gibbs Racing No. 20 Toyota

Just Win, Baby: Jimmie Johnson's four career wins at Las Vegas is tops for the series. Kenseth is a three-time winner.

Fastest In Practice
First Practice: Carl Edwards, Roush Fenway Racing No. 99 Ford (191.980 mph)
Second Practice: Brian Vickers, Michael Waltrip Racing No. 55 Toyota (188.950 mph)
Third Practice: Jamie McMurray, Chip Ganassi Racing No. 1 Chevrolet (186.942 mph)

Former Kobalt 400 Winners In Field
Jimmie Johnson (4), Matt Kenseth (3), Jeff Burton (2), Carl Edwards (2), Kyle Busch, Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon

Milestone Start
Martin Truex Jr. (Furniture Row Racing) is making his 300th career Sprint Cup Series start. Four drivers have previously won in their 300th start -- Ned Jarrett (1965), Rusty Wallace (1993), Kasey Kahne (2012) and Kyle Busch (2013).

Fantasy Sleeper (powered by
Stewart: The driver of the No. 14 Chevrolet is a one-time Las Vegas winner and Stewart sports the fat 60-percent top-10 rate at this facility. Three of his last four trips to the 1.5-mile track have netted top-10 finishes. (Click here for more fantasy advice.)


READ: Logano wins
Coors Light Pole Award

READ: Weekend schedule
for Las Vegas

Fantasy Live

Get RaceView