News & Media

Snapshot: Kansas preview

May 10, 2014, Kenny Bruce,

Catch up quickly before Saturday's running of the 5-hour Energy 400 benefiting Special Operations Warrior Foundation

RELATED: Full race lineup | Series standings
MORE: Play NASCAR Fantasy Live | Sign up for RaceView today

What: Fourth-annual 5-hour Energy 400 benefiting Special Operations Warrior Foundation
Where: Kansas Speedway
Saturday, May 10, 2014
267 laps (400.5 miles)
7:30 p.m. ET

Pit road speed: 45 mph
Caution car speed
: 55 mph


Latest news

On the front row
1. Kevin Harvick, Stewart-Haas Racing No. 4 Chevrolet (194.252 mph)
2. Joey Logano, Team Penske No. 22 Ford (193.910 mph)
*Harvick set a track record in the second round of qualifying with a speed of 194.658 mph (previous record of 191.864 mph set by Matt Kenseth on April 21, 2013)

Fastest in practice
First practice: Kyle Larson, Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates No. 42 Chevrolet (189.076 mph)
Second practice: Tony Stewart, Stewart-Haas Racing No. 14 Chevrolet (192.809 mph)

From pole to Victory Lane
The last two Kansas race winners started from the pole -- Matt Kenseth and Kevin Harvick. Jimmie Johnson also won from the No. 1 starting spot in 2008.

Failed to qualify
Dave Blaney (Randy Humphrey Racing No. 77 Ford).

It's a team thing
All four Stewart-Haas Racing drivers qualified in the top 10, a first for the organization -- Kevin Harvick (pole), Kurt Busch (sixth), Tony Stewart (eighth) and Danica Patrick (ninth).

Milestone start …
Clint Bowyer will make his 300th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series start Saturday night at Kansas. The Kansas native -- Bowyer hails from Emporia -- made his Cup debut at Phoenix in 2005.

… And Cup debut
Ryan Blaney, a full-time driver in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, will make his Sprint Cup debut Saturday. Blaney, 20, qualified the No. 12 Team Penske Ford 21st.

Favored by a mile … and a half?
Team Penske drivers Brad Keselowski (Las Vegas) and Joey Logano (Texas) have won this year's two Cup races on 1.5-mile tracks. Logano starts second and Keselowski starts third Saturday.

Toyota trouble?
Brian Vickers was the top-qualifying Toyota driver, and will start from the No. 15 spot in the 43-car field.

Defending 5-hour Energy 400 Champion
Matt Kenseth, Joe Gibbs Racing No. 20 Toyota

Former Kansas winners in field
Greg Biffle, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth, Tony Stewart (2); Brad Keselowski, Joe Nemechek, Ryan Newman, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick (1).

Fantasy sleeper (powered by RotoWire)
Clint Bowyer. Bowyer will be racing at his home track this weekend for the 5-hour Energy 400. That's usually a good reason to select a driver for a spot fantasy racing start. The No. 15 MWR Toyota team is coming off a strong top-5 finish at Talladega and finally building some momentum after a slow start to the season. In fact, this intermediate oval has been a good venue for the veteran driver over the years.


READ: Latest

WATCH: Latest
NASCAR video

Fantasy Live