News & Media

Joey Logano grabs pole for Dover NNS race

May 31, 2014, Staff report,

Team Penske driver picks up first Nationwide pole of season

RELATED: Full Buckle Up 200 lineup

A day after Brad Keselowski won the Coors Light Pole Award for Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race, fellow Team Penske driver Joey Logano earned the pole for Saturday's NASCAR Nationwide Series Buckle Up 200 at Dover International Speedway.

Logano's best speed around the Monster Mile of 155.474 mph topped JR Motorsports driver Chase Elliott's 155.119. Elliott will start alongside Logano on the front row.

Richard Childress Racing's Brian Scott (154.799) will line up next to Friday night's NASCAR Camping World Truck Series winner Kyle Busch (154.606), followed by Trevor Bayne (154.341) and Matt Kenseth (154.275).

Kyle Larson (154.096), Chris Buescher (153.899), Elliott Sadler (153.833), Brendan Gaughan (153.257), points leader Regan Smith (153.107) and Ty Dillon (153.042) completed the top 12 of cars that advanced to the second round of group qualifying

Former Camping World Truck Series champion James Buescher missed the cut to advance, as did rookies Dylan Kwasniewski, Ryan Reed and Cale Conley.

The qualifying session consisted of one 30-minute session before 12 cars advanced for a final 10-minute session.

Tune in later today for the Buckle Up 200, with ESPN coverage beginning at 1:30 p.m. ET.