News & Media

Kyle Busch wins first Truck Series race at Kansas

May 09, 2014, Staff report,

First Truck Series race in over a month has nine total cautions

MORE: SFP 250 results | Series standings

Kyle Busch avoided the early wrecks and won Friday night's NASCAR Camping World Truck Series' SFP 250 at Kansas Speedway.

The victory was his first in three series starts at Kansas, and also his second of the season -- he also won the season-opening race at Daytona. Busch now has 37 career wins in the Truck Series. His win at Kansas came by a margin of 3.021 seconds.

Earlier Friday, Busch won the Keystone Light Pole Award and used that position to lead a race-high 104 laps, including the last 22.

"Kansas? I'm a winner at Kansas?" Busch said in Victory Lane.

Busch's crew chief for both of his Truck Series wins this season, Eric Phillips, scored his 29th career victory atop the pit box in the series, which is a new record for the circuit.

"Just real proud of Eric and all my guys," Busch said. "It was really good once we unloaded and we just made some slight changes to it, playing around with some things trying to make it better in practice."

Defending series champion and last year's winner at Kansas, Matt Crafton, finished second. Joey Logano, making his first Truck Series start this season, finished third. Austin Dillon also made his first start of the season in the Truck Series and finished fourth. Tayler Malsam, who was making his first series start since 2011, finished fifth.

With his runner-up finish, Crafton took over the points lead and holds an eight-point advantage over Timothy Peters and Ron Hornaday Jr.

After the race, Crafton sounded confident about defending his title.

"I feel very confident in what we have for the rest of the season," Crafton said. He already has a win this season, which came at Martinsville Speedway on March 30.

Logano had to play catch up after pitting under green with 45 laps to go. The caution came out three laps later. Logano was able to recover from an 11th-place position on Lap 130 to finish in the top three.

The race had nine cautions for 46 laps, with eight coming in the first 85 laps of the race.

The first occurred on Lap 2 when Hornaday was clipped from behind by Brennan Newberry. Hornaday spun and the trucks behind him, including Peters, German Quiroga Jr. and Spencer Gallagher got caught up in the accident.

The biggest collision came after last year's Sunoco Rookie of the Year Ryan Blaney, who started on the front row, spun out on Lap 85 and appeared to avoid making much contact with the wall. Johnny Sauter got turned into the outside wall by Tyler Young and slammed into Blaney. Sauter and Blaney were both done for the night following the accident.

"Last year we got caught up in the attrition," Busch said. "Certainly a better night for us and having a fast truck and being up front helped."

This was the first Truck Series event in more than a month and the third race of the season. The series was last on track at Martinsville.

The Truck Series will run its fourth race of the season at Charlotte Motor Speedway next Friday.


READ: Latest

WATCH: Latest
NASCAR video

Fantasy Live