News & Media

Snapshot: Quicken Loans 400

June 15, 2014, Kenny Bruce,

Catch up quickly before Sunday's running of the Quicken Loans 400

RELATED: Play NASCAR Fantasy Live | Sign up for RaceView today

What: 46th Annual Quicken Loans 400

Where: Michigan International Speedway

When: Sunday, June 15, 2014

TV/Radio: TNT, MRN

Distance: 200 laps (400 miles)

Time: 1 p.m. ET

Pit Road Speed: 55 mph

Caution Car Speed: 65 mph

On The Front Row

1. Kevin Harvick, Stewart-Haas Racing No 4 Chevrolet (204.557 mph)

2. Jeff Gordon, Hendrick Motorsports No. 24 Chevrolet (203.776 mph) 

Failed To Qualify

Ryan Truex, BK Racing No. 83 Toyota


Latest news

Ready, Set, Launch

Kevin Harvick's track-record qualifying lap of 204.557 mph was the fastest unrestricted pole-winning speed since Bill Elliott's 212.809 mph at Talladega in 1987.

Personal Record As Well

Harvick's pole was his third of the season, the first time he's qualified up front more than twice since he joined the series in 2001.

Fastest In Practice

First Practice: Kasey Kahne, Hendrick Motorsports No. 5 Chevrolet (203.332 mph)

Second Practice: Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports No. 48 Chevrolet (202.054 mph)

Third Practice: Kyle Larson, Chip Ganassi Racing No. 42 Chevrolet (198.424 mph) 

Hey, Aren't You …

Former NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular Juan Pablo Montoya makes his return to the series at Michigan. Montoya, now competing for Team Penske in IndyCar, will start 28th in the organization's No. 12 Ford.

Call AAA

Kyle Larson advanced to the third round of qualifying on Friday, but was unable to make a final qualifying attempt due to problems with his car's primary and backup batteries. As a result, he will start 12th on Sunday.

Driver Rating

Best driver rating average at Michigan based on past 18 races:

Greg Biffle, Roush Fenway Racing No. 16 Ford (110.0)

Matt Kenseth, Joe Gibbs Racing No. 20 Toyota (105.6) 

Defending Quicken Loans 400 Champion

Greg Biffle, Roush Fenway Racing No. 16 Ford

Former Michigan Winners In Field

Greg Biffle 4; Matt Kenseth, Ryan Newman, Kurt Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin 2; Kevin Harvick, Kasey Kahne, Kyle Busch, Tony Stewart, Brian Vickers, Joey Logano 1.

Notable Non-Winner At MIS

Michigan International Speedway is one of five tracks on which Jimmie Johnson has yet to score a Sprint Cup points win. His best finish at the two-mile track is second (2011). 

MIS – A Ford Track?

MIS is considered a Ford race track, given the auto maker's success here. Ford teams have won the last three Cup races at MIS, and Ford/Mercury outfits have 46 wins in 89 races.

Chevy On A Roll

Chevrolet drivers are bidding for a fifth consecutive points win, something the group has accomplished twice in the last six seasons. No other manufacturer has visited victory lane since Jeff Gordon's win at Kansas, which was followed by back-to-back wins by Jimmie Johnson and Dale Earnhardt Jr.'s victory last week at Pocono. Chevy drivers won five consecutive races in 2009 and again with four straight wins to end 2012 and a season-opening win in 2013.


READ: Latest

WATCH: Latest
NASCAR video

Fantasy Live