News & Media

Snapshot: American Ethanol 200

July 11, 2014, Zack Albert,

Catch up quickly before the Camping World Truck Series race in Iowa

What: 6th annual American Ethanol 200.
Iowa Speedway, a 0.875-mile oval in Newton, Iowa.
 Friday, July 11; 8:30 p.m. ET.
 FOX Sports 1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.
200 laps, 175 miles.

Pit road speed: 40 mph
Caution car speed:
45 mph
Fuel window:
93 laps

Keystone Light Pole Qualifying: 5:40 p.m. ET (7 p.m. ET on FOX Sports 1)


Latest news

On the front row
1. Darrell Wallace Jr., Kyle Busch Motorsports No. 54 Toyota, 137.279 mph
2. Erik Jones, Kyle Busch Motorsports, No. 51 Toyota, 137.189 mph

Fastest in practice
First practice:
Darrell Wallace Jr., Kyle Busch Motorsports No. 54 Toyota, 137.261 mph.
Final practice:
Rained out.

Last year's winner
Timothy Peters, Red Horse Racing No. 17 Toyota.

They said it: "Usually when we first get there, we'll take a golf cart or rental car around the track and Dad will show me reference marks and where he lifts, but at the same time I'm not going to learn by just listening." -- John Hunter Nemechek, who will make his Iowa Speedway debut in the American Ethanol 200

They said it II: "The first year or so we came here, it was kind of an all-to-itself animal, but I think as the pavement wears out, it reminds me a lot of Richmond (International Raceway) and that's been just a superb place for me whether it was a Cup car, Nationwide car -- I've always run well there. This place just seems to take on those characteristics, especially deep into a run." -- Johnny Sauter, points leader in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

Triple play: Timothy Peters will be competing for his third consecutive victory in the American Ethanol 200. He is the only two-time winner in the seven NASCAR Camping World Truck Series races held on the 0.875-mile track.

Law of averages: ThorSport Racing teammates Johnny Sauter and Matt Crafton rank 1-2 in average finish at Iowa Speedway among active drivers in the series. Sauter boasts a stellar average finish of 4.9 in his seven races here, and Crafton -- the defending series champion -- holds a 5.0 mark.

Another checkers: NASCAR Next driver Cole Custer is set for his Truck Series debut at Iowa Speedway, but he's already had success here in other NASCAR circuits. The 16-year-old phenom scored his first NASCAR K&N Pro Series victory here last season in a combined race for the East and West tours.

Up front seems to fit: In seven NASCAR Camping World Truck Series events at Iowa Speedway, the Keystone Light Pole Award winner has gone on to win the race three times. Two other winners have come from second and third place on the starting grid. Matt Crafton drove from 11th starting position to victory in 2011, the deepest in the field an Iowa race winner has started in the Truck Series.

Former Iowa Speedway winners in the field: Timothy Peters (2); Ryan Blaney, Matt Crafton (1).


READ: Latest

WATCH: Latest
NASCAR video

Fantasy Live