News & Media

Ragan, Dillon top Indy Nationwide practices

July 25, 2014, Staff report,

No. 3 driver continues speed in final practice

NNS PRACTICE 2 (Results)

Ty Dillon continued to show speed in practices Friday, following up his second-place run earlier in the day with a top spot in the final session. Dillon's top speed of 180.245 was slightly slower that his earlier run, however, with speeds falling overall. Brian Scott recovered from his early practice showing of 16th, running second in the later practice with a speed of 178.586 mph.

Kyle Busch placed third on the leaderboard, slightly slower than his earlier run but bettering his earlier position of sixth. Fellow NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regulars fell in line behind him with Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth, Joey Logano and Paul Menard taking spots four through seven, respectively.

Regan Smith, Trevor Bayne and David Ragan rounded out the top 10. Ragan was the leader in the early practice session. Points leader Chase Elliott ran 13th.

Coors Light Pole qualifying for the Lilly Diabetes 250 will take place tomorrow at 12:10 p.m. ET on FS1.

NNS PRACTICE 1 (Results)

David Ragan moved up to the top spot on the leaderboard late in Friday's opening Nationwide Series practice, his speed of 181.043 mph one of only two above the 180 mark. The other driver to achieve the feat was second-fastest contender Ty Dillon, whose best speed was 180.930 mph.

Dylan Kwasniewski, one of Dillon's competitors for Rookie of the Year, placed third on the leaderboard by running his Chevrolet Camaro to a best lap of 179.935 mph. Brendan Gaughan was fourth (179.856 mph).

The surge of Nationwide Series drivers to the top of the leaderboard pushed nearly all the Sprint Cup Series regulars out of the top five, the exception being Paul Menard, who finished fifth. Kyle Busch, Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick and Kyle Larson all finished in the top 10.

Rookie Dakoda Armstrong logged the most laps around the track with 31, but his best lap came on his fifth turn. Armstrong finished 17th, with a fastest lap of 176.696.

The Nationwide Series Lilly Diabetes 250 is scheduled for Sat., July 26 at 4:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.