News & Media

Ryan Blaney wins Truck Series pole at Michigan

August 16, 2014, Staff report,

Driver times perfect lap to take first starting position

RELATED: Starting lineup

BROOKLYN, Mich. -- Ryan Blaney won the 21 Means 21 Pole Award on Saturday, timing the start of his lap perfectly in the five-minute final round.
The 11 other trucks couldn't say the same.
Blaney was the lone driver to start his official lap before time ran out in the final session -- the other 11 trucks were barreling toward the start/finish line, but didn't make it in time. In the No. 29 Ford, Blaney slowed when he heard the news over the radio and logged an official speed of 173.152 mph.
Speeds topped 187 mph in the second, 24-truck round.
Blaney, the series points leader, will lead the field to green later today in the Career for Veterans 200 (12:30 p.m. ET, FOX Sports 1). It's the third pole of Blaney's career and first at Michigan.

Joey Logano will line up second, followed by Timothy Peters, Darrell Wallace Jr. and Johnny Sauter.
Among the drivers not qualifying for the final round were Austin Dillon (13th), Matt Crafton (14th), Ben Kennedy (16th), Ron Hornaday Jr. (17th)
All 24 trucks waited until the final minute of the 10-minute second round to pull off pit road, setting up a frenzied shootout to set the order for the final round.