News & Media

Snapshot: Iowa

August 02, 2014, George Winkler,

Catch up quickly for the U.S. Cellular 250 presented by New Holland

RELATED: Play NASCAR Fantasy Live

What: Sixth annual U.S. Cellular 250 presented by New Holland 

Where: Iowa Speedway

When: Saturday, Aug. 2

TV/Radio: ESPN, MRN, Sirius XM NASCAR Radio (8 p.m. ET)

Distance: 250 laps, 218.75 miles

Pit road speed: 40 mph
Caution car speed: 45 mph
Fuel window: 108 laps
Average race time: 2:00:36


Last August's race winner: Brad Keselowski

May's race winner at Iowa: Sam Hornish Jr.

Front Row | Full Lineup
1. Trevor Bayne, Roush Fenway Racing No. 6 Ford (133.713 mph)
2. Brad Keselowski, Team Penske No. 22 Ford (133.605 mph)

Fastest in practice

First practice: Chase Pistone, Turner Scott Motorsports No. 31 Chevrolet (132.142 mph)

Second practice: Brendan Gaughan, Richard Childress Racing No. 62 Chevrolet (133.469 mph)

He said it: "Having a car that handles well over the bumps, you use some brakes here. There's quite a bit of off-throttle time and it makes it a little more driver-oriented. There's also a little bit of taking care of your tires over the long run. I look at the tracks that are a little bumpy that lend themselves a little more to the driver to take care of your car. You can do things to help yourself, like save the tires." -- Sam Hornish Jr., on what it takes to win at Iowa.

He said it II: "I felt like we've had a chance all year. We kind of had a slower start than we wanted. But I think now we're starting to pour it on, we're all starting to click together as a team. And I think if we can continue to win races, the points will come." -- Ty Dillon, who is 15 points behind leader Chase Elliott, on whether he can come back to win the Nationwide Series championship this year.

Dash 4 Cash Sweepstakes: Four lucky fans won all-expenses-paid trips to Iowa Speedway, and each was randomly paired with a driver who is eligible for the bonus in the Dash4Cash finale. The highest-finishing driver in tonight's race will take home $100,000 not only for himself but also for the fan. The driver-fan combos are as follows: Trevor Bayne and James Dennis of Henry, Illinois; Brian Scott and Patricia Martens of Danville, California; Regan Smith and Patricia Cochran of Houston; and Ty Dillon and Kathy Coffman of Gonzales, Louisiana.

Internet sensation: Josh Berry will make his NASCAR Nationwide Series debut driving the No. 5 Chevrolet for JR Motorsports. Berry raced Dale Earnhardt Jr. on, catching the eye of his future boss. Berry is a full-time driver for JRM in the late models. He finished second in final practice.

Former Iowa winners in the field: Brad Keselowski (2), Sam Hornish Jr. (1), Elliott Sadler (1), Trevor Bayne (1).


READ: Latest

WATCH: Latest
NASCAR video

Fantasy Live