Loading Related Articles ...

Five new names on list of 2017 Hall of Fame nominees

Mark Martin

RELATED: NASCAR reveals nominees for 2017 Hall of Fame class | MORE: See the 2017 Hall of Fame nominees


Longtime NASCAR team owner Jack Roush and four-time Camping World Truck Series champion Ron Hornaday highlight five new nominees to be considered for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2017.
Roush and Hornaday join former premier series driver Ricky Rudd, winning engine builder Waddell Wilson and television broadcaster/journalist Ken Squier as first-time nominees.
The NASCAR Hall of Fame Nominating Committee met last week in Daytona Beach, Florida, to determine this year's list of nominees.
All 15 of those on the 2016 list that were not chosen for induction return on the 2017 ballot.
Roush, 73, has been a car owner in NASCAR's premier series since 1988, and the Roush Fenway Racing organization has earned 135 Sprint Cup victories as well as two series championships.
Four RFR drivers have won five XFINITY Series titles while the organization also sports one CWTS crown.
Hornaday, 57, won Truck Series titles in 1996, '98, 2007 and '09. When he stepped aside at the end of the 2014 season, his 51 career victories were tops for the series, a mark that still stands.
Rudd earned 23 premier series wins in a career that spanned three decades. One of the top road racers of his generation, Rudd scored NASCAR wins for some of the sport's top team owners, including Richard Childress, Bud Moore and Rick Hendrick. Winning the 1997 Brickyard 400 was notable as Rudd managed the feat as an owner/driver.
Wilson's engines took drivers to more than 100 premier series victories, while as a crew chief, he won 19 times, including three times in the Daytona 500.
Squier began his broadcasting career at age 12 (his father owned and operated a television station) and was part of the first crew to call the Daytona 500 live (in 1979). The Squier-Hall Award, created in 2012, honors the contributions of media to the success of the sport and is named in honor of Squier and longtime Motor Racing Network broadcaster Barney Hall.
The Nominating Committee also determined the list of five candidates for the Landmark Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to NASCAR. New to the 2017 list is Janet Guthrie, the first woman to qualify for and compete in the Indianapolis 500 and Daytona 500. She joins Martinsville (Va.) Speedway track founder H. Clay Earles, former car owner Raymond Parks, Ralph Seagraves of former series sponsor RJ Reynolds and its Sports Marketing Enterprises marketing arm, and Squier.
The 15 returning nominees among those to be considered for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame for 2017:
Buddy Baker -- Nineteen career premier series wins.
Red Byron -- NASCAR's first strictly stock champion.
Richard Childress -- Currently boasts 105 premiers series wins and six championships as a car owner.
Ray Evernham -- Won three premier series titles as crew chief for Jeff Gordon; as an owner, worked with Dodge when the manufacturer re-entered NASCAR.
Ray Fox -- Car owner, engine builder and crew chief; won 14 times as an owner.
Rick Hendrick -- Team owner whose Hendrick Motorsports organization has won 11 premier series titles and 240 races.
Harry Hyde -- For two decades (1960s though '80s), Hyde was one of the most successful crew chiefs in the garage; helped guide Bobby Isaac to the 1970 premier series title.
Alan Kulwicki -- Won premier series title in 1992 as an owner/driver.
Mark Martin -- Took runner-up honors in championship battle five times; ended career with 40 premier series wins, 49 in XFINITY Series and seven in Trucks.
Herschel McGriff -- A four-time winner based on the West Coast, McGriff enjoyed one of the longest NASCAR driving careers in NASCAR; former Winston West Series champion.
Raymond Parks -- First team owner to win strictly stock championship (with driver Red Byron).
Benny Parsons -- Former premier series champion who enjoyed a successful second career in the broadcast booth.
Larry Phillips -- Legendary short track ace from the Midwest; won five NASCAR national Weekly Series titles and seven regional championships.
Mike Stefanik -- Winner of seven NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and two K&N Pro Series East titles for a record-tying nine NASCAR championships.
Robert Yates -- Engine builder and championship winning team owner (57 wins).
Voting Panel and Nominating Committee members will meet May 25 to determine the 2017 Hall of Fame class.

More stories