Loading Related Articles ...

Sprint Cup Series

Chase Elliott wins Sprint Fan Vote

The fans have spoken. Chase Elliott is headed to the Sprint All-Star Race as the Sprint Fan Vote winner.

Danica Patrick finished in second place and also transfers into the Sprint All-Star Race to complete the 20-car field.

"The biggest thing is just very fortunate to have some great fans," Elliott said after coming up just short of racing his way into the field with runner-up finishes is Segments 1 and 3.

"Definitely really appreciate everybody voting and taking time out of their day to vote for us and get us in this race. Obviously wish I could've gotten us in racing our way, but fortunately have some great fans to do that for us."

Patrick was appreciative of the fan support as well as she will make her third Sprint All-Star Race start.

"First and foremost, thank you to the fans," Patrick said. "The only thing that would make this any better is if I could deliver a great finish for them and an exciting race and pass cars and make the car better for next week.

"... It’s just even that much better to know that I have incredible fans that always come through. Don't think that I don’t see social media fans. And I see all the times that people said they voted for me. So, thank you very much." 

The Sprint All-Star Race, scheduled for 9 p.m. ET Saturday night, awards $1 million to the winner. The annual rite of spring boasts an impressive history and plenty of elite drivers. The 2016 version is televised on FS1 with radio coverage on MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

Fifteen drivers had qualified for the event heading into Saturday morning's Sprint Showdown by virtue of either winning a points-paying race in 2015 or thus far in 2016, having won a previous Sprint All-Star Race or being a former series champion.

Three drivers qualified from the Sprint Showdown's three segments: Trevor Bayne, Greg Biffle and Kyle Larson.

The top five vote-getters heading into the final week of voting were, in alphabetical order: Ryan Blaney, Matt DiBenedetto, Chase Elliott, Kyle Larson and Danica Patrick.

More stories