Loading Related Articles ...

Who is eligible for Sprint All-Star Race?

All-Star Race eligibility

The Sprint All-Star Race is scheduled for May 21 at 7 p.m. ET (FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) at Charlotte Motor Speedway, and drivers can qualify in a variety of ways.


Drivers who won a race in 2015 or so far in 2016 are in the event. So, too, are former premier series champions and former All-Star Race winners. Three drivers will be added to the field by winning one of three Sprint Showdown segments, and the Sprint Fan Vote will also add a driver into the field.


If there aren't a minimum of 20 cars in the field by that point, the next highest vote-getter in the Sprint Fan Vote would be added to the field.


Below is a list of drivers who meet the above criteria, according to NASCAR. This list has been updated to include Sprint Showdown segment winners and the drivers that made it in on the Sprint Fan Vote.

Eligible drivers for Sprint All-Star Race
Number Driver How qualified
1. Joey Logano 2015 winner
2. Jimmie Johnson 2015 winner
3. Kevin Harvick 2015 winner
4. Brad Keselowski 2015 winner
5. Denny Hamlin 2015 winner
6. Matt Kenseth 2015 winner
7. Kurt Busch 2015 winner
8. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2015 winner
9. Carl Edwards 2015 winner
10. Martin Truex Jr. 2015 winner
11. Kyle Busch 2015 winner
12. Tony Stewart Premier series champion
13. Jamie McMurray Past All-Star winner
14. Ryan Newman Past All-Star winner
15. Kasey Kahne Past All-Star winner
16. Trevor Bayne Sprint Showdown Segment 1 winner
17. Greg Biffle Sprint Showdown Segment 2 winner
18. Kyle Larson Sprint Showdown Segment 3 winner
19. Chase Elliott Sprint Fan Vote winner
20. Danica Patrick Sprint Fan Vote runner-up

More stories