Loading Related Articles ...

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series

Owen Wilson named Grand Marshal for Daytona 500

MORE: Buy tickets to the race


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Jan. 19, 2017) -- Actor Owen Wilson, the voice of the animated character Lightning McQueen in Disney Pixar's upcoming movie "Cars 3," will serve as Grand Marshal for the 59th annual DAYTONA 500 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race on Feb. 26 at Daytona International Speedway.


The Daytona 500, the season-opening race for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, will begin at 2 p.m. (TV -- FOX, FOX Deportes; Radio -- MRN Radio, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) following Wilson delivering the famous "Drivers, start your engines" command to the 40-car field. In addition to giving the command, Wilson will ride in one of the Grand Marshal cars during pace laps prior to the green flag of the 200-lap, 500-mile race and attend the drivers meeting.


"Cars 3" opens nationwide on June 16. Wilson, who voiced Lightning McQueen in "Cars" (2006) and "Cars 2" (2011), is also known for starring roles in a variety of hit comedy films including "Wedding Crashers," "Meet the Parents," "Zoolander" and "The Royal Tenenbaums." Wilson stars in the upcoming "Wonder" and the Woody Harrelson-directed live film "Lost in London."


"Owen Wilson is one of America's most beloved comedic actors and his voice has brought Lightning McQueen to life for millions of movie-goers over the last 10 years," said Daytona International Speedway President Chip Wile. "His star-power, and of course his personality, are perfect fits for 'The Great American Race.' "

For more information on "Cars 3" visit http://disney.com/Cars3.


Wilson is the latest name on a long list of actors who have served as Daytona 500 Grand Marshals including Gerard Butler, Vince Vaughn, John Travolta, Ben Affleck, Nicolas Cage and Matthew McConaughey.


Tickets for the 2017 DAYTONA 500 and Speedweeks can be purchased online at www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP. Fans can also follow NASCAR on Twitter and stay up to speed on the latest news by using #DAYTONA500 and #SPEEDWEEKS. Stay connected with Daytona International Speedway on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Pinterest and Snapchat, and by downloading the Speedway’s mobile app, for the latest Speedway news throughout the season.

Previous Daytona 500 grand marshals
Year Grand Marshal(s)
2016 Gerard Butler
2015 Vince Vaughn
2014 Chris Evans
2013 James Franco
2012 Kate Upton, Jane Lynch
2011 Josh Duhamel, Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, Michael Bay
2010 Junior Johnson
2009 Charlie Crist
2008 24 Living Daytona 500 Champions
2007 Nicolas Cage

More stories


Top headlines