Loading Related Articles ...


XFINITY, Camping World year-end awards moving to Charlotte

The season-ending awards for the NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will relocate to Charlotte, North Carolina, in 2017, culminating in a combined star-studded week that will celebrate champions from NASCAR Whelen All-American Series and NASCAR Touring Series.


Relocating from Miami, where in recent years the end-of-year awards banquet was held on the Monday following the season-ending race weekend, the XFINITY and Camping World Truck series will honor their champions on Saturday, Dec. 9 at the Crown Ballroom in the Charlotte Convention Center, where the annual NASCAR Hall of Fame induction ceremony is held.


The night prior on Dec. 8, the ever-popular Whelen All-American Series and Touring Series awards will take place at the same location, giving drivers from those series added exposure with the two national series also in town.


"Hosting the awards in Charlotte provides an opportunity to honor these series' champions in a year-end, week-long celebration of their own," said Jill Gregory, senior vice president and chief marketing officer. "This will allow for broader participation by the entire industry -- teams, partners and fans alike -- and promises to be an even bigger event that honors our deserved champions."


The move from Miami to Charlotte was discussed with, and favored by, teams competing in both the XFINITY and Camping World Truck Series. Moving closer toward teams' home bases creates an opportunity for more teams to attend.


The Convention Center has hosted the Whelen All-American Series and Touring Series Night of Champions since 2010.
Friday's showcase is a highlight of the NASCAR Home Tracks season. It will honor the 2017 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Division I national champion, as well as spotlight U.S. state and Canadian provincial champions, and track champions. Honorees will also include the champions from the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and West, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, NASCAR Pinty's Series, NASCAR PEAK Mexico Series and NASCAR Whelen Euro Series.

More stories

Top headlines