News & Media

Hendrick Motorsports

January 26, 2016,

Hendrick Motorsports
The history of Hendrick Motorsports and full crews for Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Chase Elliott and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Manufacturer: Chevrolet
Engine builder: Hendrick Motorsports
Debut season: 1984
Owner standings

Originally founded as All-Star Racing in 1984, Rick Hendrick started Hendrick Motorsports after finding success with a championship drag boat team. Geoffrey Bodine piloted the first entry in 1984, giving the team its first win and pole. Tim Richmond joined as the team expanded to two entries in 1986, taking seven trips to Victory Lane that year. Hendrick would see yet another expansion in 1987, when a third car was added.

The team holds a record of 11 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championships: One from Terry Labonte, four from Jeff Gordon and six won by Jimmie Johnson. Hendrick Motorsports also holds the record for owner's championships with 14 titles across the three national series. in 2004, Hendrick Motorsports became the only NASCAR premier series team with four full-time drivers.

Hendrick Motorsports is based in Concord, North Carolina, where more than 500 employees work in a 430,000-square-foot facility. Visit the team's web site here.

Follow Hendrick Motorsports on Facebook and Twitter.

Kasey Kahne

Enumclaw, Wash.

Primary team members:
Crew chief: Keith Rodden

Over-the-wall crew:
Jackman: Eric Ludwig
Gasman: Landon Walker
Front tire changer: Austin Dickey
Front tire carrier: Michael Oxendine
Rear tire changer: Ben Fischbeck
Rear tire changer: Johnny Roberts

Chase Elliott

Dawsonville, Georgia

Primary team members:
Crew Chief: TBD

Over-the-wall crew
Jackman: TBD
Gasman: TBD
Front tire changer: TBD
Front tire carrier: TBD
Rear tire changer: TBD
Rear tire carrier: TBD

Jimmie Johnson

El Cajon, Calif.

Primary team members:
Crew Chief: Chad Knaus
Car Chief: Ron Malec
Spotter: Earl Barban
Race Engineers: Cliff Daniels, Chais Eliason and Julian Pena

Over-the-wall crew:
Jackman: Andrew Childers
Gasman: Brandon Harder
Front Tire Changer: Cameron Waugh
Front Tire Carrier: R.J. Barnette
Rear Tire Changer: Calvin Teague
Rear Tire Carrier: Ryan Patton
Pit Support: Randy Bradshaw
Pit Crew Coach: Chris Krieg

Road crew members:
Engine Tuner: John Boydston
Tire Specialist: Kyle Collins
Shock Specialist: Mike Ellershaw
Backup: John Gianninoto
Truck Driver: Chad Kohn
Mechanics: Austin Konetski, Jesse Saunders and Ryan Southall
Interior: Zack Miller

Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Kannapolis, N.C.

Primary team members:
Crew Chief: Greg Ives

Over-the-wall crew:
Jackman: Nick Covey
Gasman: Matt Tyrrell
Front tire changer: David Mayo
Front tire Carrier: Dustin Lineback
Rear tire changer: Joe Slingerland
Rear tire carrier: Rowdy Harrell