Johnson, Dale Jr. both up for ESPYs Best Driver

June 24, 2014, Staff report,

Fans can vote online from now until July 16 at 9 p.m. ET

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series veterans Jimmie Johnson and Dale Earnhardt Jr. have been nominated for this year's ESPY Awards. Johnson is up for both Best Driver and Best Championship Performance awards, while Dale Jr. is in the running with Johnson for Best Driver.

Johnson has won the Best Driver award four times, the first coming in 2008 after winning his third Sprint Cup Series championship. Much like his championships, he has won the Best Driver award consecutively from 2008-2011. Johnson also has won Driver of the Year five times (2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2013).

Johnson is also in contention for Best Championship Performance with NBA Finals MVP and San Antonio Spurs forward Kawhi Leonard, NCAA Tournament MOP Shabazz Napier and World Series MVP and Boston Red Sox designated hitter David Ortiz.

Although Dale Earnhardt Jr. has never won the Best Driver award, he does have a powerful fan base -- powerful enough to win NASCAR's Most Popular Driver Award 11 consecutive years (2003-2013). 

Fans are able to vote here from now until July 16 at 9 p.m. ET. Fans only get one vote per category so choose wisely. 


READ: Latest

WATCH: Latest
NASCAR video

Fantasy Live