Glen Wood | Class of 2012

NASCAR Hall of Fame member

Glen Wood laid the foundation for the famed Wood Brothers racing team as a driver in the NASCAR premier series. Competing on a semi-regular basis, mostly at tracks close to his southern Virginia home, Wood won four times — all at Bowman-Gray Stadium in Winston-Salem, N.C. His best season was 1960 during which Wood won three times and posted six top-five and seven top-10 finishes in just nine races. He also won 14 poles during a 62-race career.

(b. 7/18/25)

Hometown: Stuart, Va.

Competed: 1953-64 (Driver); 1953-Present (Owner)

Starts: 62 (Driver); 1,369 (Owner)

Wins: 4 (Driver); 98 (Owner)

Poles: 14 (Driver); 118 (Owner)

Wood, of course, is best known for his collaboration with brothers Leonard and Delano in Wood Brothers Racing. The Stuart, Va.-based team, which dates to 1950 and remains active, has amassed 98 victories in 1,367 races. The team’s all-time roster of drivers is a virtual who’s who of NASCAR and includes David Pearson, Curtis Turner, Marvin Panch, Dan Gurney, Tiny Lund, Parnelli Jones, Junior Johnson, Cale Yarborough, Fred Lorenzen and Bill Elliott.

The Wood Brothers have excelled outside the NASCAR world as well, winning the 1965 Indianapolis 500 with Jim Clark.


Comments are currently unavailable. We’re working on the development of a NASCAR fan forum – please stay tuned.