Lineup announced for Sprint Cup Series Awards

Musicians John Mellencamp, Dierks Bentley, Sara Bareilles to perform; Jay Mohr to host NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards in Las Vegas

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — A little bit of country, pop, rock and roll and comedy will equal a show chock full of entertainment when chart-topping musicians John Mellencamp, Dierks Bentley and Sara Bareilles take the stage, and actor, comedian and radio personality Jay Mohr hosts this year’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards, which will take place at Wynn Las Vegas on Friday, Dec. 6, will begin at 8 p.m. ET. The event will crown six-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson and honor the remaining top 10 drivers in the final Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup standings. The event will air on FOX Sports 2 and beginning at 9 p.m. ET, with Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio also providing coverage starting at 8 p.m. ET.

Jay Mohr, who transcended the comedic world from a fixture on "Saturday Night Live" landing roles in popular films such as "Jerry McGuire," "Pay it Forward" and "Hereafter" will host this year’s event. His career in show business, which also includes hosting nationally syndicated "Jay Mohr Sports" and other top radio programs, spans more than three decades. Mohr is no stranger to the spotlight, making him a natural fit to showcase some of NASCAR’s most prominent stars. 

“It may be just a coincidence, but I hosted the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards in 2006 when Jimmie Johnson won the first of his five straight titles,” said Mohr. “Now, I’m back again to officially crown him champion for a sixth time. I couldn’t be more thrilled to host this show again and help honor some of the best drivers — and athletes — in the world.”

To get the night started, NASCAR fans will be treated to a special performance by John Mellencamp. With 22 top 40 hits to his credit, Mellencamp has been nominated for 13 GRAMMY Awards and has been the recipient of numerous accolades including Billboard’s Century Award, The Woody Guthrie Award, The John Steinbeck Award, induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the Americana Music Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award over the course of his storied career.

Later in the evening, Dierks Bentley, one of contemporary country music’s biggest stars, keeps his NASCAR performance streak rolling following his act at Homestead-Miami Speedway during Ford Championship Weekend. Bentley has forged his own artistic path by mixing elements of modern country, classic country, bluegrass and rock, which has helped him maintain an unmistakable identity while constantly reinventing his sound. His most recent album "Home" debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Country Album Charts and spawned three consecutive chart-topping hits, marking 10 career number one songs for Bentley as a singer and songwriter. His five previous studio albums have sold more than five million copies. Bentley has earned 11 GRAMMY nominations and an invitation to join the Grand Ole Opry. He recently released his new single, “I Hold On,” off his upcoming album "Riser."

Additionally, three-time GRAMMY-nominated singer, songwriter and pianist Sara Bareilles will perform a song from her fourth studio album "The Blessed Unrest" which features the current hit song “Brave.” She achieved initial mainstream success in 2007 with the chart-topping single "Love Song,” which was No. 1 on Billboard’s Pop 100 list. Since then, Bareilles has sold more than one million records and more than four million singles in the United States.

NASCAR’s Los Angeles-based Entertainment Marketing division has garnered a strong cross-section of high-profile celebrities and star-studded musical acts for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards throughout the years. These efforts are a reflection of the division’s aim to reach a broad audience, which is one of NASCAR’s top priorities. Recent examples include superstar comedian and actor Howie Mandel, multimedia superstar Reba, multiplatinum recording artist Kid Rock, GRAMMY Award-winning band Train and multiplatinum recording artist Phillip Phillips.

“The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards are the perfect opportunity to bring together NASCAR’s top drivers and some of the most popular names in Hollywood for a star-powered celebration,” said Zane Stoddard, NASCAR vice president of entertainment marketing and business development. "Just like in years past, this is a quality line-up filled with a wide range of personalities and musical genres, so there will be something for everyone.”

The 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards will re-air on FOX Sports 1 at noon ET on Sunday, Dec. 8.


READ: Johnson wins
2013 Sprint Cup Series title

READ: HOF-worthy career
in the books, Martin bows out

READ: Finale represents
end of a chapter for some

READ: Kenseth won’t dwell
on coming up short