Grant Enfinger joins ThorSport full-time in 2017

ThorSport Racing filled the last vacancy in its driver lineup Tuesday afternoon with the announcement that Grant Enfinger plans to compete full-time in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series in 2017.

Enfinger, 32, will drive the No. 98 Toyota in a Sunoco Rookie of the Year campaign. The full-time ride comes after last season’s successful eight-race stint, which netted the Alabama native’s first victory in the series and a Keystone Light Pole Award.


“This is a dream come true, and I’m blessed to be able to share this season with some great people,” Enfinger said in a release provided by the team. “I’m proud to be continuing the partnership with (primary sponsor) Champion Power Equipment, along with starting new ones with Jive Communications, Ride TV and Curb Records. I’m very impressed with the people, equipment, and facility that (team owners) Duke and Rhonda Thorson have assembled, and I can’t wait to get to Daytona in a few weeks.”

Enfinger has just 14 career starts in the Camping World Truck Series. Last season, he opened the year with GMS Racing by landing the pole position at Daytona International Speedway. His last race with the Maury Gallagher-owned team resulted in a trip to Victory Lane after he led 45 of 94 laps to prevail at Talladega Superspeedway.

Enfinger boasts solid stock-car credentials from his time in the ARCA Series, where he was crowned champion in 2015. Among his 15 career ARCA wins are two triumphs in the prestigious season opener at Daytona.

Veteran Jeff Hensley will serve as crew chief, returning to ThorSport after working with Spencer Gallagher and the GMS Racing team last year. Hensley was atop the pit box for Johnny Sauter and Cameron Hayley at ThorSport in 2014 (second half of the season) and 2015, respectively. He has 13 career wins in the Truck Series and 11 in the XFINITY Series, where he helped guide Chuck Bown to a championship in 1990.

Enfinger will compete alongside teammates Matt Crafton, Cody Coughlin and Ben Rhodes in the ThorSport driver lineup.