Johnson, Truex tally stage wins in Sonoma

RELATED: FAQ for race format | Stage points earned in 2017


Jimmie Johnson took the lead on Lap 40, holding on to secure the Stage 2 win when it ended on Lap 50 for his first stage victory of the season Sunday at Sonoma Raceway.

Johnson led 11 laps during Stage 2 in his No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet in the Toyota / SaveMart 350.

Brad Keselowski finished second in Stage 2 in his No. 2 Team Penske Ford. Matt Kenseth, Denny Hamlin and Joey Logano rounded out the top five, respectively.

Stage 2 saw only three leaders, total, as Hamlin led one lap after Martin Truex Jr. yielded the lead on Lap 38.

Truex led a race-high 21 of 50 laps through the first two stages.


Stage 2 results

Finish Driver Team Race points
 1.  Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports  10
2.  Brad Keselowski  Team Penske 9
3.  Matt Kenseth  Joe Gibbs Racing 8
4.  Denny Hamlin  Joe Gibbs Racing 7
5.  Joey Logano  Team Penske 6
6.  Dale Earnhardt Jr.  Hendrick Motorsports 5
7.  Ryan Blaney Wood Brothers Racing 4
8.  Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing 3
9.  Chase Elliott  Hendrick Motorsports 2
10.  Ryan Newman Richard Childress Racing 1


Martin Truex Jr. won his Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series-leading 11th stage when he was in the top position after Stage 1 ended on Lap 25 at Sonoma Raceway on Sunday.

Truex led eight laps in the first stage of the Toyota / Save Mart 250, taking the stage-winning position on Lap 23.

Road course specialist AJ Allmendinger finished second in his No. 47 JTG Daugherty Chevrolet.

Kyle Larson, the pole-sitter who led a race-high nine laps in the first stage, finished third in the No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet.

Ryan Blaney in the No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford and Denny Hamlin in the No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota rounded out the top five.

Stage 1 results

Finish Driver Team Race points
 1.  Martin Truex Jr.  Furniture Row Racing  10
2.  AJ Allmendinger  JTG Daugherty Racing 9
3.  Kyle Larson  Chip Ganassi Racing 8
4.  Ryan Blaney  Wood Brothers Racing 7
5.  Denny Hamlin  Joe Gibbs Racing 6
6.  Joey Logano  Team Penske 5
7.  Trevor Bayne  Roush Fenway Racing 4
8.  Austin Dillon  Richard Childress Racing 3
9.  Kasey Kahne  Hendrick Motorsports 2
10.  Clint Bowyer  Stewart-Haas Racing 1