NMPA Most Popular Driver voting opens Sept. 3

DARLINGTON, S.C. — Voting for the National Motorsports Press Association’s Most Popular Driver Award will officially open Sunday, Sept. 3, 2017.

The 2017 voting period will open at 12 a.m. ET Sunday and close at 11:59 p.m. ET on Sunday, Nov. 19.

To vote for this year’s award, fans can visit www.nmpamostpopulardriver.com via desktop or the NASCAR MOBILE app.

Once again, voting is limited to one vote per person per email address per day. Fans are encouraged to share their votes through social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter.

Eligible drivers for this year’s award are those who have declared for the 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series championship.

The award is administered by the NMPA and is the only major NASCAR award determined solely by fan vote. It has been presented annually since 1953.

Nineteen drivers have received the award at least once since the program began. NMPA Hall of Fame member and 1988 series champion Bill Elliott holds the record for most MPD awards with 16; Hendrick Motorsports driver Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won the award for the past 14 seasons. Earnhardt is stepping down from competing in NASCAR’s Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series at season’s end.

The winner of this year’s award will be announced during the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Awards program Thursday, Nov. 30 at the Wynn Las Vegas. NBCSN, MRN and SiriusXM will provide coverage of this year’s program.