Streeter Lecka | Getty Images

NASCAR Hall of Fame inducts 2018 class

RELATED: Class of 2018 announced | Inductees through the years | Every Hall member

Five more legends of stock-car racing heard the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s call Friday as part of the ninth class for induction. Red Byron, Ray Evernham, Ron Hornaday Jr., Ken Squier and Robert Yates had their diverse NASCAR legacies secured in a gala enshrinement.

Learn more about the Hall’s newest members. | Class of 2018 inducted

ALBERT: Heartfelt induction for Yates, rest of Hall class
MORE: Full transcript of Yates’ written speechJim France honored with Landmark Award

The Class of 2018

Red Byron


The first champion in what is now the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, Robert “Red” Byron made his impact as a pioneer in stock-car racing’s formative years. Byron, a World War II veteran injured in combat, wore a special brace on his left leg to assist him as he drove. It barely slowed him, as he won the NASCAR Modified championship in 1948, then added the “Strictly Stock” division crown in the following year. Byron made just 15 career premier-series starts, but his two wins in the eight-race first season made him a champion. | Full biography | Byron laid foundation for future titlists

Ray Evernham

Getty Images

A master mechanic and later a successful team owner, Ray Evernham was a revolutionary figure in the NASCAR garage. Evernham’s know-how atop the pit box and under the hood helped to guide Jeff Gordon to three premier-series championships in the 1990s. He was also instrumental in developing the techniques of the modern pit stop, employing full-time athletes to go over the wall for quick service. Evernham also led Dodge’s comeback into stock-car racing with his own team in 2001. | Full biography | Evernham’s legacy with Gordon, Rainbow Warriors enshrinedGordon honors Evernham | Evernham praises Rainbow Warriors | Evernham thankful for time with GordonEvernham pokes fun at Gordon Evernham through the years | Evernham made mark with pit stop evolution

Ron Hornaday Jr.

Getty Images

Hornaday competed in all three NASCAR national circuits, but made his mark as a mainstay in the Camping World Truck Series. The California native dominated the record books, surging to four championships (1996, 1998, 2007, 2009), 51 career wins and 27 pole positions. He also set a record with a stunning streak of five consecutive victories in 2009. Hornaday also posted four wins in what is now the NASCAR Xfinity Series. He retired from competition after the 2014 season. | Full biography | Hornaday: ‘It’s the freakin’ Hall of Fame’ |  Hornaday ‘humbled’ by upcoming induction | Hornaday’s Trucks dominance delivers him to pinnacle |  Hornaday proud to represent Truck Series

Ken Squier


With a voice that brought vibrant descriptions of on-track actions to the airwaves, Ken Squier found his niche in NASCAR’s history through broadcasting. The Vermont native was a co-founder of the Motor Racing Network (MRN) and later became a regular television presence with lap-by-lap coverage for CBS and TBS. With his former colleague Barney Hall, Squier was honored by the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2012 with the creation of the annual Squier-Hall Award for Media Excellence. | Full biography | Squier shares best Hall advice he receivedSquier discusses story behind ‘Great American Race’ phrase | Squier looks back on favorite moments

Robert Yates


With a rich pedigree in getting the most horsepower out of his stout powerplants, Robert Yates’ name has long been synonymous with engine performance. From his earliest days working for the formidable Holman-Moody team, Yates’ mechanical prowess propelled victories from many Hall of Fame drivers before him. His transition to team ownership was a smooth one, adding to his tally of Daytona 500 victories and securing a premier-series title with fellow Hall of Famer Dale Jarrett in 1999. | Full biography | Jarrett honored to read Yates’ speechChampionship engine builder, car owner Robert Yates honored by the sport he loved 

The history

The NASCAR Hall of Fame opened May 11, 2010, and is an interactive entertainment attraction honoring the history and heritage of NASCAR. The 150,000-square-foot facility includes artifacts, exhibits and a 278-person theater. Learn more here about the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

• Class of 2010: Dale Earnhardt, Bill France Sr., Bill France Jr., Junior Johnson, Richard Petty
• Class of 2011: Bobby Allison, Ned Jarrett, Bud Moore, David Pearson, Lee Petty
• Class of 2012: Richie Evans, Dale Inman, Darrell Waltrip, Glen Wood, Cale Yarborough
Class of 2013: Buck Baker, Cotton Owens, Herb Thomas, Rusty Wallace, Leonard Wood
Class of 2014: Jack Ingram,Tim Flock, Dale Jarrett,Maurice Petty, Fireball Roberts
Class of 2015: Bill Elliott, Fred Lorenzen, Wendell Scott, Joe Weatherly, Rex White
• Class of 2016: Jerry Cook, Bobby Isaac, Terry Labonte, Bruton O. Smith, Curtis Turner
• Class of 2017: Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick, Mark Martin, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons