Skip to content

Kyle Larson, Christopher Bell qualify for A-Feature at Chili Bowl

RELATED: Kahne, Allgaier return to dirt in Chili Bowl

Kyle Larson wasted no time qualifying for Saturday night’s A-Feature at the Chili Bowl as he picked up his fourth preliminary victory to match the late Bryan Clauson for third on the all-time preliminary night win list.

The win automatically transfer the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series star into the A-Feature, which is the big event to culminate the dirt racing in Tulsa, Oklahoma, from Jan. 9-13.

Joining Larson in qualifying for the A-Feature was Brad Sweet and Tyler Courtney as they finished second and third, respectively. Sweet, who is the brother of Larson’s fiance, Katelyn, has 54 NASCAR national series starts to his name.

The 2017 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Christopher Bell kicked off last year by winning the Chili Bowl, and on Thursday he transferred to the A-Feature by winning qualifying night. Bell will get to defend his title and try to match former NASCAR Monster Energy Series champion Tony Stewart as a two-time Chili Bowl champ.

Bell, Kasey Kahne, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Justin Allgaier are among the NASCAR national series drivers looking to capture the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals.

Former full-time Camping World Truck Series driver Rico Abreu also qualified for the A-Feature via his win in Wednesday night’s Hard Rock Casino Qualifying Night A-Feature. Abreu has won the Chili Bowl twice (2015, 2016) in his career.