Kevin Harvick
Jonathan Ferrey | Getty Images

Harvick tops practice charts at ISM Raceway — again

Kevin Harvick continued his speedy driving as he wheeled his No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford around ISM Raceway at 134.544 mph to record the fastest final Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series practice speed Saturday.

Harvick, the winner of the last two Monster Energy Series races at Las Vegas and Atlanta and an eight-time winner at the Phoenix track, also recorded the fastest practice speed in Saturday’s early session.

RELATED: Final practice results | See every car in the field

Jamie McMurray was second-fastest in the practice session, moving his No. 1 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet at 134.504 mph.

Pole-winner Martin Truex Jr. was third on the practice chart after recording a speed of 134.454 mph in his No. 78 Furniture Row Racing Toyota.

Aric Almirola in the No. 10 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford and Alex Bowman in the No. 88 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet rounded out the top five.

Two cars – the No. 4 of Harvick and the No. 32 of Matt DiBenedetto – had 15-minute practice holds for the final practice because they failed qualifying inspection twice.

Sunday’s TicketGuardian 500 is set for 3:30 p.m. ET with TV coverage on FOX.

PRACTICE 2 RECAP | RELATED: Best 10-lap averagesPractice 2 results 

Kevin Harvick’s No. 4 Jimmy John’s Ford was “Freaky Fast” on Saturday morning at ISM Raceway at Phoenix, turning a top lap of 134.806 mph in the first Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series practice of the day.

Harvick tied Chase Elliott for the top speed in Saturday’s opening practice, but Harvick gets the top spot based on having a win (Atlanta) this season, according to a NASCAR spokesperson.

Kyle Busch, in the No. 18 Toyota, followed Elliott’s No. 9 Chevrolet in third place at 134.655 mph. Brad Keselowski, in the No. 2 Ford, and Denny Hamlin, in the No. 11 Toyota, rounded out the top five.

Last year’s race winner, Ryan Newman, was sixth in the No. 31 Chevrolet, and this year’s pole winner Martin Truex Jr. was seventh in the No. 78 Toyota.

The Nos. 23 (Gray Gaulding), 34 (Michael McDowell), 41 (Kurt Busch) and 51 (Timmy Hill) were held out of practice for 15 minutes for being late to qualifying inspection.