Three Joe Gibbs Racing teams assessed L1-level penalties

The No. 11, No. 18 and No. 20 teams for Joe Gibbs Racing in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series have been assessed L1-level penalties for having splitters that did not meet rules specifications during pre-race inspection before Sunday’s race at Michigan International Speedway.

The No. 11 team of Denny Hamlin, the No. 18 team of Kyle Busch and the No. 20 team of Erik Jones all were sent to the rear of the field prior to the Michigan race, when the violations were discovered.

RELATED: Playoff Watch post-Michigan | Full Michigan race results

Crew chiefs Mike Wheeler (No. 11 team), Adam Stevens (No. 18 team) and Chris Gayle (No. 20 team) all were fined $25,000, according to Tuesday’s penalty report. Their respective car chiefs — Brandon Griffeth (No. 11 car chief), Nate Bellows (No. 18 car chief) and Jason Overstreet (No. 20 car chief) — all were suspended from the next Monster Energy Series points event.

The Monster Energy Series is off this weekend, meaning the penalties will be served at Sonoma Raceway next weekend.

All of these teams have the right to appeal their penalties to the National Motorsports Appeals Panel. There was no immediate indication on whether Joe Gibbs Racing officials planned to appeal.

Busch finished fourth Sunday, with Hamlin finishing 12th and Jones 15th.