Sarah Crabill | Getty Images
Sarah Crabill | Getty Images

Comparison: Kevin Harvick vs. Bill Elliott at 44 wins

Kevin Harvick’s victory at Michigan International Speedway was the 44th of his career in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, tying him with NASCAR Hall of Famer Bill Elliott for 17th place all time.

Harvick provides an interesting stats comparison with “Awesome Bill from Dawsonville,” who watched Kyle Busch scoot past him on the all-time wins list earlier this season.

PHOTOS: Bill Elliott’s career

Elliott’s 44th win came in the penultimate race of the 2003 season at Rockingham. Elliott, then 48 years old, led 140 laps in a Ray Evernham Dodge to cap his career, although he’d go on to race 98 more times in NASCAR’s top series over the next nine years — and will return to the NASCAR Xfinity Series later this month at Road America.

Let’s take a look at how Harvick’s career stats match up to Elliott’s at the time of both drivers’ 44th win.

Key Stats Bill Elliott Kevin Harvick
Starts 730 633
Wins 44 44
Top fives 175 185
Top 10s 318 326
Laps led 11,178 12,281
Laps completed 207,750 181,425
Busch Pole Awards 55 23
Age 48 42

Now, let’s take a closer look at Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch’s career stats, considering both drivers are in the midst of career years — Harvick has seven wins through 23 races this year, and Busch has six wins of his own — and reached the 44-win plateau earlier this season.

The below are both drivers’ stats at the time of their respective 44th win.

Key Stats Kevin Harvick
Kyle Busch
Starts 633 469
Wins 44 44
Top fives 185 166
Top 10s 326 247
Laps led 12,281 14,730
Laps completed 181,425 131,011
Busch Pole Awards 23 28
Age 42 32

Harvick and “Rowdy” clearly are in good company here, and they have a few other NASCAR Hall of Famers in their sights.

Tied with Tony Stewart, Busch’s next Monster Energy Series win will make him just the 13th driver in NASCAR history to win 50 races at the sport’s top level. Harvick, meanwhile, is tracking down NASCAR Hall of Famer Buck Baker (46 wins) on the all-time list.

Here’s a look at the all-time top-20 winners in Monster Energy Series history, with an asterisk denoting an active driver.

Rank Driver Wins
1. Richard Petty 200
2. David Pearson 105
3. Jeff Gordon 93
t-4. Bobby Allison 84
t-4. Darrell Waltrip 84
t-6. Jimmie Johnson* 83
t-6. Cale Yarborough 83
8. Dale Earnhardt 76
9. Rusty Wallace 55
10. Lee Petty 54
t-11. Junior Johnson 50
t-11. Ned Jarrett 50
t-13. Tony Stewart 49
t-13. Kyle Busch* 49
15. Herb Thomas 48
16. Buck Baker 46
t-17. Bill Elliott 44
t-17. Kevin Harvick* 44
19. Mark Martin 40
20. Tim Flock 39