Joey Logano circles the track in Miami
Robert Laberge | Getty Images

Championship contender Logano leads final practices in Miami

Joey Logano continued to show the most speed of all Championship 4 drivers as he topped the leaderboard for Saturday’s final practice session at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Logano, who drove his No. 22 Team Penske Ford to a fast lap of 171.701 mph, also led the earlier practice Saturday.

RELATED: Final practice results | Best 10-lap averages

Fellow championship contender Martin Truex Jr. was just behind Logano in the final practice, however, as he drove his No. 78 Furniture Row Racing Toyota 170.584 mph.

Non-playoff drivers Brad Keselowski, Erik Jones and Aric Almirola rounded out the top five.

The remaining Championship 4 drivers did not crack the top 10 in practice: Kyle Busch drove his No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota to the 12th-fastest lap, 168.587 mph; Kevin Harvick was 14th in the No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford at 167.931 mph. Busch kissed the wall late in final practice and picked up a little right rear damage to his car.

This was the last time the Monster Energy Series saw the track until Sunday’s Ford EcoBoost 400 (3 p.m. ET, NBC/NBC Sports App, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio), which will determine the 2018 champion.


Championship contender Joey Logano led Saturday’s early Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series practice at Homestead-Miami Speedway when he wheeled his No. 22 Team Penske Ford around the track at 169.609 mph.

No other Championship 4 driver was among the top five drivers in the 50-minute practice session.

Aric Almirola was second-fastest in the No. 10 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford at 169.194 mph. Pole winner Denny Hamlin was third after he pushed the No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota to 168.492 mph. Ryan Newman (167.999 mph) and Erik Jones (167.411 mph) rounded out the top five.

The remaining three Championship 4 drivers were scattered throughout the leaderboard, with Martin Truex Jr. ninth in the No. 78 Furniture Row Racing Toyota (166.718 mph), Kyle Busch 23rd in the  No. 18 JGR Toyota (164.489 mph) and Kevin Harvick 28th in the No. 4 SHR Ford (163.552 mph).

The No. 1 of Jamie McMurray and No. 15 of Ross Chastain both served 15-minute penalties for failing pre-qualifying inspection twice.