Skip to content
Home Monster Energy Cup Series News Xfinity Series News Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series News Videos Photo Galleries Results Standings Weekend Schedule Drivers Driver Stats Buy Tickets Camping Info More Series Fantasy Live Props Challenge Mobile App NASCAR Podcasts NASCAR Shop My Profile
Joey Logano Celebration

Logano’s title run gives Ford first driver championship since 2004

Joey Logano is 2018 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion — and Ford Performance has added another driver title to its coffers for the first time since 2004.

So long, 14-year streak.

RELATED: Race results

Logano, 28, won the title with a display of gumption, perfectly executing a brilliant pass on race leader Martin Truex Jr. with 12 laps to go following a restart.

He held the No. 78 Toyota at bay for the next two laps, then powered well ahead of Truex Jr. over the final eight-lap stretch to win on Ford Championship Weekend.

The title was the first for Logano, who added a second driver championship for team owner Roger Penske.

SHOP: Logano championship gear!

Kurt Busch won the 2004 championship for team owner Jack Roush, the last time a Ford driver won the premier series title. Matt Kenseth won for Roush the previous season in 2003.