Chase Elliott looks on at Daytona.

Chase Elliott to compete in No. 8 JR Motorsports car at Daytona

Chase Elliott will return to the NASCAR Xfinity Series for the season-opening race at Daytona International Speedway to pilot the No. 8 Chevrolet Camaro, JR Motorsports announced Thursday.

Elliott, the 2014 Xfinity Series champion for JRM, will debut the No. 8 car for JRM with primary sponsorship from AfterShokz headphone brand for the NASCAR Racing Experience 300 (Feb. 16, 2:30 p.m. ET, FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

RELATED: Full Speedweeks schedule

“I’m looking forward to getting back behind the wheel for JRM in Daytona,” Elliott said in a team release. “Kelley, Dale and the entire organization have been so great to work with over the years. We won this race back in 2016 and this year we’re looking to get back into victory lane with AfterShokz.”

Along with his title, Elliott has earned five victories in 80 races for JRM. Elliott’s last trip to Victory Lane came in the the 2016 Xfinity Series season opener at Daytona, driving the No. 88 entry in the first of six races that season. Elliott also competed in eight events throughout the 2018 season, including one race for JRM and seven starts in the No. 23 GMS Racing Chevrolet.

The No. 8 car is officially slated thus far to compete in 24 events this season. Dale Earnhardt Jr. has indicated he will drive the Darlington Xfinity Series race himself. Below is the full driver schedule for JRM’s No. 8 team in 2019:

— Elliott will make his JRM debut at Daytona International Speedway (Feb. 16)

— Spencer Gallagher will drive the car at Talladega Superspeedway (April 27) and Daytona (July 5).

— Ryan Preece will compete in races at Atlanta Motor Speedway (Feb. 23), Auto Club Speedway (March 16), Pocono Raceway (June 1) and Watkins Glen International (Aug. 3).

— Zane Smith will make his NXS debut at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on March 2. He will also compete at Bristol Motor Speedway (April 6), both Richmond Raceway events (April 12 and Sept. 20), Dover International Speedway (May 4 and Oct. 5) and Iowa Speedway (June 16 and July 27) events.

— Ryan Truex will drive for the organization at ISM Raceway (March 9), Las Vegas Motor Speedway (Sept. 14), Charlotte Motor Speedway (Sept. 28) and Kansas Speedway (Oct. 19).

— Jeb Burton will drive at both Texas Motor Speedway events (March 30 and Nov. 2), Charlotte Motor Speedway (May 25), Chicagoland Speedway (June 29) and Homestead-Miami Speedway (Nov. 16).

Taylor Moyer will be the crew chief for the No. 8 all season.