Robert Laberge | Getty Images

Alex Bowman wins Fan Vote, transfers to All-Star Race

Alex Bowman was announced Saturday as the All-Star Race Fan Vote winner for the final spot in the Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race.

Bowman was the top vote-getter among drivers not already qualified for the main event. The fans’ choice put his Hendrick Motorsports No. 88 Chevrolet into the field as the 19th and final entry.

RELATED: See the full lineup | All-time Fan Vote winners

There was sure to be a new Fan Vote winner this year with Chase Elliott, who won the honor the past three years, having already locked into the All-Star Race by virtue of victory – he had three last year and has one this season.

In fact, every single driver who had ever previously won the Fan Vote is either already in the All-Star Race (like Martin Truex Jr., Joey Logano and Elliott) or is no longer an active driver.

Bowman joins William Byron (Stage 1 winner), Bubba Wallace (Stage 2 winner) and Kyle Larson (Stage 3 winner) in the $1 million shootout. His Fan Vote win ensures Hendrick Motorsports has all four of its cars in the main event.

The five finalists in the Fan Vote, revealed earlier this week on, were Alex Bowman, Kyle Larson, Matt DiBenedetto, Bubba Wallace and William Byron.