Back to News

April 26, 2020

Alex Bowman survives overtime for eNASCAR iRacing Invitational win at Talladega

Hendrick Motorsports earned its third straight eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series victory Sunday when driver Alex Bowman nipped Corey LaJoie and Ryan Preece in a three-wide finish in the GEICO 70 at virtual Talladega Superspeedway.

The final frantic laps in an overtime restart were every bit the dramatic close-quarter conclusion that race fans expect at the 2.66-mile superspeedway — virtual or real-life. Bowman’s margin of victory was a scant .037 seconds over runner-up LaJoie and .038 seconds over third-place finisher Ryan Preece. Garrett Smithley and Landon Cassill rounded out the top five.

William Byron, Bowman’s Hendrick Motorsports teammate and a two-race winner in the eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series, finished sixth. Brennan Poole, brothers Kyle and Kurt Busch and Daniel Suarez finished inside the top 10.

RELATED: How to get started with iRacing

“I guess just right place, right time, kind of the normal speedway racing deal,” Bowman said afterward, noting “I’ve really got to thank Preece for pushing me because that’s what made the difference at that point.”

His Hendrick Motorsports crew chief Greg Ives congratulated Bowman noting Sunday’s virtual victory was technically Bowman’s second trophy on the 2020 season because Bowman won at California’s Auto Club Speedway in March — before the schedule was put on a safety hold as the world deals with the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Two wins on the season — one virtual and one real,” Ives said on Twitter. “As far as momentum, we’ll take it any way we can.”

There were 14 leaders and 27 lead changes in Sunday’s 74-lap overtime race featuring a full field of 39 cars that included NASCAR Hall of Famer Jeff Gordon’s virtual debut. The six-time Talladega NASCAR Cup Series winner was running among the top five early in the event, impressively making his way up through the field after a 29th-place starting spot.

But an accident among the frontrunners, involving then leader Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Ty Dillon caused the first of Talladega’s well-known multi-car accidents or the “Big Ones” — as they are affectionately dubbed. The damage done to Gordon’s famed No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet required a “reset” going forward, giving Gordon a new car but put him in the back of the field. He was caught up again in a late race multi-car accident, ultimately finishing 38th but remained all smiles on the FOX Sports broadcast where he traditionally handles the color commentary duties.

“It’s incredibly realistic,” Gordon said of his debut, adding “I loved being a part of it, it was great being back in there in the action and competition on the track. I had a blast.”

As the statistics indicate this was absolutely anyone’s race — a deviation from the last few weeks where one driver — Byron — really dominated.

MORE: Huffman takes Thunder preliminary

Team Penske’s Brad Keselowski and NASCAR Cup Series rookie John Hunter Nemechek led the most laps on the day — 11 each. Keselowski, who earned his first NASCAR Cup Series victory at Talladega back in 2009 and has five wins there, finished 19th after being collected in a late-race pileup. Nemechek finished 25th in his No. 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford.

Dale Earnhardt Jr, whose six Talladega wins tie Gordon for most in Sunday’s iRacing field, ran among the front pack at various times — even leading two laps — but he also was collected in one of the multi-car melees and finished 30th.

Pit strategy certainly worked in Bowman’s favor — the fortunate timing of the cautions something he acknowledged after the race. He, LaJoie, Preece, Smithley, Cassill, Dillon and Byron provided all the dramatic feels fans are accustomed to in a wild, take-what-you-can-get finish — complete with wild wrecks back in the field.

Bowman conceded that he isn’t as experienced at iRacing as so many of the others he competes against in this series and admitted the whole overall strategy change — no team orders — was also a new dynamic.

“That part of it’s definitely different,” Bowman said. “I feel like if we keep doing this long enough, we’ll have teammates and manufacture orders in it, but it was definitely different to just focus on your deal and do your deal all day.

“It was kind of a weird race for us just with how we didn’t get fuel under that first caution and then had to pit earlier under green and was kind of going to put us in a really bad spot, and the cautions kind of saved us.”

It all worked out.

“Just glad to be able to get a win,” Bowman said. “You know, it’s good for everybody with Chevy Goods on the car and it’s good to have some momentum. You know, obviously the season was going really well for us in real life, and then as we got into this virtual deal, had some ups and downs, but to get a win is really cool.”

The next eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series race is set for Sunday, May 3 at virtual Dover International Speedway.


Fin Str Car Driver Mfr Led Status
1 22 88 Alex Bowman Chevrolet 8 Running
2 1 32 Corey LaJoie Ford 7 Running
3 31 37 Ryan Preece Chevrolet 1 Running
4 11 51 Garrett Smithley Chevrolet 3 Running
5 2 89 Landon Cassill Chevrolet 0 Running
6 32 24 William Byron Chevrolet 9 Running
7 7 15 Brennan Poole Chevrolet 4 Running
8 19 18 Kyle Busch Toyota 0 Running
9 13 1 Kurt Busch Chevrolet 0 Running
10 10 96 Daniel Suarez Toyota 0 Running
11 33 66 Timmy Hill Toyota 0 Running
12 24 4 Kevin Harvick Ford 0 Running
13 34 95 Christopher Bell Toyota 0 Running
14 15 47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Chevrolet 0 Running
15 20 52 JJ Yeley Ford 0 Running
16 35 77 Parker Kligerman Toyota 5 Running
17 39 12 Ryan Blaney Ford 0 Running
18 21 10 Aric Almirola Ford 0 Running
19 12 2 Brad Keselowski Ford 11 Running
20 28 53 Joey Gase Chevrolet 0 Running
21 18 49 Chad Finchum Toyota 0 Running
22 38 31 Tyler Reddick Chevrolet 0 Running
23 6 13 Ty Dillon Chevrolet 8 Running
24 5 3 Austin Dillon Chevrolet 0 Running
25 8 38 John H. Nemechek Ford 11 Running
26 23 41 Cole Custer Ford 0 Running
27 14 17 Chris Buescher Ford 3 Running
28 37 9 Chase Elliott Chevrolet 0 Running
29 3 6 Ross Chastain Ford 0 Running
30 4 8 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet 2 Running
31 27 19 Bobby Labonte Toyota 0 Running
32 25 48 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 0 Running
33 17 14 Clint Bowyer Ford 1 Running
34 16 34 Michael McDowell Ford 0 Running
35 9 21 Matt DiBenedetto Ford 0 Running
36 30 22 Joey Logano Ford 0 Disconnected
37 26 20 Erik Jones Toyota 0 Disconnected
38 29 024 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet 0 Running
39 36 11 Denny Hamlin Toyota 1 Disconnected