Back to News

July 2, 2020

Starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Indianapolis

2020 Logano
Jared C. Tilton
Getty Images

The starting lineup for Sunday’s Big Machine Hand Sanitizer 400 Powered by Big Machine Records NASCAR Cup Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway (4 p.m. ET on NBC/NBC Sports App, IMS Radio Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) has been set.

Joey Logano will start from the pole position, with Kurt Busch joining him on the front row to lead the field to green for the 160-lap, 400-mile race.

RELATED: Indianapolis schedule | Paint schemes for Fourth of July weekend

The lineup for the race was determined by a random draw, with results airing on FS1’s “Race Hub.” The parameters for the draw were as follows:

  • Positions 1-12 determined by a random draw from charter teams in those positions in team owner points
  • Positions 13-24: Random draw among charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 25-36: Random draw among charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 37-40: will be filled out by open, non-chartered teams in order of owner points

Here is a look at the full lineup:

Starting spot Driver Car # Team
1 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
2 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
3 Alex Bowman 88 Hendrick Motorsports
4 Justin Allgaier* 48 Hendrick Motorsports
5 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
6 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
8 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
9 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
10 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
11 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
12 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
13 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
14 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
15 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
16 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
17 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
18 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
19 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Front Row Motorsports
20 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
21 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
22 Clint Bowyer 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
23 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
24 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
25 Joey Gase 51 Petty Ware Racing
26 Brennan Poole 15 Premium Motorsports
27 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
28 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
29 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing
30 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
31 Corey LaJoie 32 Go Fas Racing
32 Ross Chastain 77 Spire Motorsports
33 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
34 JJ Yeley 27 Rick Ware Racing
35 Christopher Bell 95 Leavine Family Racing
36 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
37 Daniel Suarez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
38 Timmy Hill 66 Motorsports Business Management
39 Johs Bilicki 7 Tommy Baldwin Racing
40 BJ McLeod 78 BJ McLeod Motorsports

*Allgaier is starting in place of Jimmie Johnson, who reported a positive COVID-19 test on Friday.