Chris Graythen | Getty Images

Clint Bowyer wins 2020 All-Star Race Fan Vote

Clint Bowyer was announced Wednesday night as the All-Star Race Fan Vote winner for the final spot in the NASCAR All-Star Race at Bristol Motor Speedway. 

Bowyer was the top vote-getter among drivers not already qualified for the main event. The fans’ choice put his No. 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford into the field as the 20th and final entry. 

RELATED: Fan Vote winners in All-Star history | All-Star Open results

Bowyer’s Fan Vote win breaks Hendrick Motorsports’ hold on the spot for the past four years. Alex Bowman won last year’s Fan Vote and Chase Elliott won the three years before that. Both of those drivers qualified with race wins since 2019. With Bowyer’s entry, all four Stewart-Haas Racing cars — Bowyer, Kevin Harvick, Aric Almirola (who won a stage in the All-Star Open) and Cole Custer — will be in the main race. 

Bowyer’s best finish in the All-Star Race came in 2014 — with a seventh-place result. Perhaps that will improve with this year’s race at Bristol, where Bowyer has finished as the runner-up in two of the last four spring races at the 0.533-mile track.

Kasey Kahne is the only previous Fan Vote winner to go on to win the main event. He did just that in 2008. 

The top 10 in the Fan Vote as revealed on last week were Bubba Wallace, Bowyer, Matt DiBenedetto, William Byron, Corey LaJoie, Tyler Reddick, Christopher Bell, Timmy Hill, Aric Almirola and Austin Dillon.