All-time NASCAR Cup Series champions

Ryan Blaney sprays champagne to celebrate his championship

The all-time list of NASCAR Cup Series champions starts with Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt and Jimmie Johnson, all of whom have seven career championships. It is an exclusive club of just 36 total drivers who have won a championship at NASCAR’s top level.

Below is the list of all-time champions in the NASCAR Cup Series.

Last update: Following 2023 season

YearChampionManufacturerWinsMargin of Victory
2023Ryan BlaneyFord31
2022Joey Logano (2)Ford45
2021Kyle LarsonChevrolet105
2020Chase ElliottChevrolet55
2019Kyle Busch (2)Toyota55
2018Joey LoganoFord35
2017Martin Truex Jr.Toyota85
2016Jimmie Johnson (7)Chevrolet53
2015Kyle BuschToyota51
2014Kevin HarvickChevrolet51
2013Jimmie Johnson (6)Chevrolet619
2012Brad KeselowskiDodge539
2011Tony Stewart (3)Chevrolet50*
2010Jimmie Johnson (5)Chevrolet639
2009Jimmie Johnson (4)Chevrolet7141
2008Jimmie Johnson (3)Chevrolet769
2007Jimmie Johnson (2)Chevrolet1077
2006Jimmie JohnsonChevrolet556
2005Tony Stewart (2)Chevrolet535
2004Kurt BuschFord38
2003Matt KensethFord190
2002Tony StewartPontiac338
2001Jeff Gordon (4)Chevrolet6349
2000Bobby LabontePontiac4265
1999Dale JarrettFord4201
1998Jeff Gordon (3)Chevrolet13364
1997Jeff Gordon (2)Chevrolet1014
1996Terry Labonte (2)Chevrolet237
1995Jeff GordonChevrolet734
1994Dale Earnhardt (7)Chevrolet4444
1993Dale Earnhardt (6)Chevrolet680
1992Alan KulwickiFord210
1991Dale Earnhardt (5)Chevrolet4195
1990Dale Earnhardt (4)Chevrolet926
1989Rusty WallacePontiac612
1988Bill ElliottFord624
1987Dale Earnhardt (3)Chevrolet11489
1986Dale Earnhardt (2)Chevrolet5288
1985Darrell Waltrip (3)Chevrolet3101
1984Terry LabonteChevrolet265
1983Bobby AllisonBuick647
1982Darrell Waltrip (2)Buick1272
1981Darrell WaltripBuick1253
1980Dale EarnhardtChevrolet519
1979Richard Petty (7)Chevrolet511
1978Cale Yarborough (3)Oldsmobile10474
1977Cale Yarborough (2)Chevrolet9386
1976Cale YarboroughChevrolet9195
1975Richard Petty (6)Dodge13722
1974Richard Petty (5)Dodge10567.45
1973Benny ParsonsChevrolet167.15
1972Richard Petty (4)Plymouth8127.9
1971Richard Petty (3)Plymouth21364
1970Bobby IsaacDodge1151
1969David Pearson (3)Ford11357
1968David Pearson (2)Ford16126
1967Richard Petty (2)Plymouth276028
1966David PearsonDodge141950
1965Ned Jarrett (2)Ford133034
1964Richard PettyPlymouth95302
1963Joe Weatherly (2)Pontiac32228
1962Joe WeatherlyPontiac92396
1961Ned JarrettChevrolet1830
1960Rex WhiteChevrolet63936
1959Lee Petty (3)Plymouth101830
1958Lee Petty (2)Oldsmobile7644
1957Buck Baker (2)Chevrolet10760
1956Buck BakerChrysler14686
1955Tim Flock (2)Chrysler18508
1954Lee PettyChrysler7283
1953Herb Thomas (2)Hudson11646
1952Tim FlockHudson8106
1951Herb ThomasHudson7146.2
1950Bill RexfordOldsmobile1110.5
1949Red ByronOldsmobile2117.5

* Won the championship based on tiebreaker for wins – five vs. Carl Edwards’ one.