Ford scores 700th Cup Series win with Harvick’s Dover victory

Kevin Harvick’s victory at Dover International Speedway in the second of two races this weekend in the NASCAR Cup Series was a milestone moment for Ford in the sport’s top series.

RELATED: Harvick dominates for Dover win| Harvick clinches regular-season title

The win marked the manufacturer’s 700th victory in the NASCAR Cup Series. Ford’s first victory came on June 25, 1950 when “Shirtless” Jimmy Florian upset the field at Dayton Speedway, topping a field that featured NASCAR Hall of Famers Lee Petty and Curtis Turner. To date, 85 drivers have won a NASCAR Cup Series race in a Ford with Ned Jarrett, who won the manufacturer’s first driver championship in 1965, the overall wins leader.

“Congratulations to Ford on their 700th Cup win,” Harvick said after completing the milestone. “… What a year. What a seven years. I am just really proud of everybody at Stewart-Haas Racing for being able to drive this car. Week after week they just put so much effort into making this thing go fast and it has been a great year.”

Take a look below at the all-time winningest drivers for the manufacturer known for the blue oval:

Rank Driver Number of wins
1 Ned Jarrett 43
2 Bill Elliott 40
3 Mark Martin 35
4 Dale Jarrett 30
5 David Pearson 29
t-6 Fred Lorenzen 26
t-6 Junior Johnson 26
t-8 Matt Kenseth 24
t-8 Brad Keselowski 24
t-10 Joey Logano 23
t-10 Rusty Wallace 23
t-10 Carl Edwards 23
13 Kevin Harvick 21