Kevin Harvick claims Busch Pole Award for regular-season finale

Kevin Harvick sped his way to the Busch Pole Award for Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series regular-season finale at Daytona International Speedway (7:30 p.m. ET, NBC/NBC Sports App) following a sterling performance in the second race of a Dover doubleheader.

The lineup was determined using NASCAR’s new competition-based formula, which takes into account finishing position from the previous race (weighted 50%), ranking in team owner points (35%) and the fastest lap from the previous race (15%) — and Harvick placed first in all categories.

RELATED: Learn more about the new lineup formula | Regular Season champ gear

Martin Truex Jr., in the No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, will join him on the front row after a strong weekend at Dover that included runner-up finishes in both NASCAR Cup Series races.

In the majority of national series events since NASCAR’s May return, starting lineups have been set by random draws. The new structure draws on performance from both individual races and season-long results, rather than leaving a range of starting spots up to chance.

An example of how the math works: Harvick finished first in the last race (1 x 0.5), is first in owner points (1 x 0.35) and his fastest lap in Sunday’s race at Dover ranked first in the field (1 x 0.15). His metric total is a perfect 1.00. Truex Jr., meanwhile, had a metric total of 3.9 to claim second; he finished second Sunday to Harvick (2 x 0.5), is fourth in owner points (4 x 0.35) and scored the 10th-fastest lap of the race (10 x 0.15).

Team Penske teammates Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski, widely considered two of the best superspeedway racers in the garage, will line up third and fourth, respectively. Meanwhile, Hendrick Motorsports teammates William Byron and Jimmie Johnson — in the thick of the playoff hunt — will both start inside the top 10 at sixth and seventh, respectively.

See the full starting lineup for Saturday’s race below.

Starting spot Driver Car # Team
1 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
2 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
4 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
5 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
6 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
7 Jimmie Johnson 48 Hendrick Motorsports
8 Alex Bowman 88 Hendrick Motorsports
9 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
10 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
11 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
13 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
14 Clint Bowyer 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
15 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
16 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
17 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
18 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
19 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
20 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
21 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
22 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
23 Christopher Bell 95 Leavine Family Racing
24 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Front Row Motorsports
25 Corey LaJoie 32 GoFas Racing
26 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
27 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
28 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
29 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing
30 Daniel Suarez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
31 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
32 Brennan Poole 15 Premium Motorsports
33 JJ Yeley 27 Rick Ware Racing
34 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
35 Timmy Hill 66 Motorsports Business Management
36 Ross Chastain 77 Spire Motorsports
37 Joey Gase 53 Rick Ware Racing
38 James Davison 51 Petty Ware Racing
39 Josh Bilicki 7 Tommy Baldwin Racing
40 Brendan Gaughan 62 BeardMotorsports