Jared C. Tilton | Getty Images
Jared C. Tilton | Getty Images

Four national-series teams penalized for lug-nut infractions after Richmond

NASCAR competition officials issued penalties Tuesday across all three of its national series for lug-nut safety violations after last weekend’s events at Richmond Raceway.

STANDINGS: Cup Series | Xfinity Series | Gander Trucks

In the Cup Series, two crew chiefs were fined $10,000 after their cars were found with one unsecured lug nut each after Saturday’s 400-lap race. The teams penalized under Section of the NASCAR Rule Book:

  • No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota of driver Denny Hamlin (crew chief Chris Gabehart)
  • No. 12 Team Penske Ford of driver Ryan Blaney (crew chief Todd Gordon)

In the Xfinity Series, crew chief Bruce Schlicker was assessed a $5,000 fine for a lug-nut violation on the Kaulig Racing No. 10 Chevrolet of Ross Chastain after Friday’s event.

In the Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series, officials handed down a $2,500 fine to crew chief Scott Zipadelli for one missing or unsecured lug nut on the No. 16 Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota of driver Austin Hill.