Pro Invitational Series race to feature Next Gen car, Jesse Iwuji, winner of fan vote

2021may4 Jesse Iwuji

Before NASCAR Cup Series stars honor racing history for Throwback Weekend at Darlington Raceway, they’ll look toward the future in Wednesday night’s eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series race by competing virtually in the NASCAR Next Gen car (8 p.m. ET, FS1).

Drivers and fans will get a first look at NASCAR’s new car, which will debut in competition in 2022, in the third event of this year’s 10-race schedule that features a full field of NASCAR Cup Series stars facing off in iRacing exhibition races live and aired by FOX Sports and NBC Sports.

The race follows the formal unveiling of each manufacturer’s Next Gen car model in a much-anticipated event at 3 p.m. ET on Wednesday in Charlotte, North Carolina, streamed live on

Just four days later, the NASCAR Cup Series visits the historic Darlington Raceway for the Goodyear 400 (3:30 p.m. ET, FS1) on Throwback Weekend, a nod to NASCAR’s history in the form of commemorative paint schemes — and even a special Goodyear tire design.

For the second Pro Invitational Series race in a row, Camping World Truck Series driver and U.S. Naval officer Jesse Iwuji will compete against the field of Cup Series stars after winning a fan vote against a mix of up-and-coming stars and popular names across multiple NASCAR national series.

The Next Gen car has been designed in collaboration with NASCAR, its OEMs — Chevrolet, Ford, and Toyota — and teams in order to boost competition. The car has been developed and tested extensively, but Wednesday night’s iRacing Pro Invitational Series race will mark the first time a full field of drivers have competed in the fully stylized cars.

The live broadcast of the eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series race from Darlington Raceway, featuring Next Gen cars, airs Wednesday at 8 p.m. ET on FS1. Pre-race programming begins during NASCAR Race Hub, also on FS1, at 6 p.m. ET.

The entry list for the race is as follows (subject to change):

No. Team Driver
00 StarCom Racing Quin Houff
2 Team Penske Brad Keselowski
3 Richard Childress Racing Austin Dillon
4 Stewart-Haas Racing Kevin Harvick
5 Hendrick Motorsports Kyle Larson
6 Roush Fenway Racing Ryan Newman
7 Spire Motorsports Corey LaJoie
8 Richard Childress Racing Tyler Reddick
9 Hendrick Motorsports Chase Elliott
10 Stewart-Haas Racing Aric Almirola
11 Joe Gibbs Racing Denny Hamlin
14 Stewart-Haas Racing Chase Briscoe
15 Rick Ware Racing James Davison
17 Roush Fenway Racing Chris Beuscher
18 Joe Gibbs Racing Kyle Busch
19 Joe Gibbs Racing Martin Truex, Jr.
20 Joe Gibbs Racing Christopher Bell
21 Wood Brothers Racing Matt DiBenedetto
22 Team Penske Joey Logano
23 23XI Racing Bubba Wallace
24 Hendrick Motorsports William Byron
34 Front Row Motorsports Michael McDowell
38 Front Row Motorsports Anthony Alfredo
41 Stewart-Haas Racing Cole Custer
42 Chip Ganassi Racing Ross Chastain
43 Richard Petty Motorsports Erik Jones
47 JTG Daugherty Racing Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
48 Hendrick Motorsports Alex Bowman
51 Petty Ware Racing Garrett Smithley
52 Rick Ware Racing Josh Bilicki
53 Rick Ware Racing Joey Gase
77 Spire Motorsports Justin Haley
78 Live Fast Racing BJ McLeod
99 Spire Motorsports Daniel Suarez
66 MBM Motorsports Timmy Hill
88 Promotor’s Provisional Dale Earnhardt Jr.
25 Promotor’s Provisional Bobby Labonte
87 Fan Vote Jesse Iwuji