Josh Berry Knoxville
James Gilbert | Getty Images

Knoxville Camping World Truck Series qualifying heat race recap, results

Four qualifying heats will set the starting lineup for Friday night’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Corn Belt 150 at Knoxville Raceway (9 p.m. ET on FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio). This running recap will keep track of the results in each qualifying race.

Qualifying Heat Race #4

Carson Hocevar wasted no time taking the lead away from Iowa native Brett Moffitt on the opening lap and then held off Chase Briscoe for the win in Qualifying Heat Race #4. Briscoe took second in the heat, while Moffitt placed third. Austin Hill and Sheldon Creed completed the top five.

Final running order: Hocevar, Briscoe, Moffitt, Hill, Creed, Grant Enfinger, Stewart Friesen, Andrew Gordon, Norm Benning and Jennifer Jo Cobb.

Qualifying Heat Race #3

Tyler Ankrum and Derek Kraus drove up from starting spots of fifth and 10th, respectively, to finish 1-2 in Qualifying Heat Race #3. Brian Brown took third, with Johnny Sauter and Jack Wood closing out the top five.

Jessica Friesen will be part of the field for the 40-truck event, making her and husband Stewart Friesen the first husband-wife to race against each other since the early 1990s when Elton Sawyer and Patty Moise then competed in several NASCAR races together.

Of note for the main 150-lap event, Chris Windom (No. 02, driver change) and John Hunter Nemechek (No. 4, backup truck) will start at the rear of the field. Both of those drivers were in the field for this particular heat. Nemechek ran three laps to shake down the truck before going to the garage since he will be starting at the back anyway.

Final running order: Ankrum, Kraus, Brown, Sauter, Wood, Jessica Friesen, Danny Bohn, Windom, Morgan Alexander and Nemechek.

Qualifying Heat Race #2

Kyle Strickler, known for his dirt-racing prowess, took the lead with four laps to go from Matt Crafton to win the Qualifying Heat Race #2. Zane Smith, who led the first 10 laps, finished second, while Crafton finished third. Todd Gilliland took fourth in the heat, and Ben Rhodes finished fifth.

Strickler’s two previous Truck Series starts both came at Eldora Speedway — a dirt track run in the Truck Series from 2013 to 2019..

Final running order: Strickler, Smith, Crafton, Gilliland, Rhodes, Donny Schatz, Chase Purdy, Ryan Truex, Jake Griffin and Codie Rohrbaugh.

Qualifying Heat Race #1

Josh Berry led for the entirety of the opening 15-lap qualifying heat race at Knoxville Raceway. Berry, making his fifth Truck Series start of the season, cruised to a heat win in the No. 25 Rackley W.A.R. Chevrolet.

Parker Price-Miller, who is driving the No. 3 Jordan Anderson Racing Chevrolet in his Truck debut, took second. Hailie Deegan was third, followed by Chandler Smith and Austin Wayne Self.

Final running order: Berry, Price-Miller, Deegan, Smith, Self, Tanner Gray, Cody Erickson, Tate Fogleman, Jett Norland and Devon Rouse.

The starting lineup for Friday night’s Corn Belt 150 will be determined by a formula that weighs finishing position plus the number of positions gained during each heat. Drivers finishing first in their heats earn 10 points, second place earns nine, third place collects eight and so forth. Additionally, drivers earn one passing point for each position gained in their heat; there are no point deductions or “negative points” for drivers who lose positions in their heats. The points totals determine starting positions. Also, these points are only used to determine the starting lineup and do not count toward the season-long championship standings. Ties in these combined points totals will be broken by current team owner points.

Based on that formula, Kraus and Ankrum will unofficially be on the front row with Kraus earning the pole position.