Grant Halverson | Getty Images

NASCAR to hold Next Gen test at Charlotte Motor Speedway

As NASCAR inches closer to the 2022 Busch Light Clash in February at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, Next Gen testing will continue on Wednesday and Thursday at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Live streaming will be available on NASCAR’s YouTube and Facebook channels (11 a.m.-7 p.m. on Wednesday and 9 a.m.-5 p.m. on Thursday).

RELATED: Catch up on Wednesday’s action | Watch Thursday’s session

These testing sessions follow the series’ short-track test in October at Bowman Gray Stadium that consisted of a Goodyear tire test and generational star power turning laps at the historic venue. Wednesday will mark the fourth time the Next Gen car has appeared on the oval layout at the Concord, North Carolina, track. Cup Series champions Kurt Busch and Martin Truex Jr. took part in the track’s test last year, Busch returned earlier this year, and wheel-force testing was conducted there in June.

This week’s session will feature a bigger roster of drivers and teams, as organizations are beginning to prepare for the 2022 season. The two-day organizational test allows teams to field their own cars, limiting entrants to one car for one- or two-car teams and two cars for three- or four-car teams. Recent changes to the Next Gen car’s structure include a position change for the exhaust and new slots on the rear windshield to reduce the temperature in the cockpit.

On-track activity is scheduled for 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. ET Wednesday and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET Thursday. Each session is open to the media, and will have a full report.

MORE: New rules package, technical updates | Next Gen development timeline | Photos from the test

Team Driver(s)
No. 1 Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet Daniel Suarez and Ross Chastain
No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet Austin Dillon
No. 4 Stewart Haas Racing Ford Kevin Harvick and Chase Briscoe
No. 6 RFK Racing Ford Brad Keselowski
No. 7 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet Corey LaJoie
No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet Chase Elliott and Alex Bowman
No. 10 Stewart Haas Racing Ford Aric Almirola and Cole Custer
No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota Denny Hamlin
No. 12 Team Penske Ford Ryan Blaney
No. 16 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet AJ Allmendinger and Justin Haley
No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota Christopher Bell
No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford Austin Cindric and Harrison Burton
No. 22 Team Penske Ford Joey Logano
No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet William Byron and Kyle Larson
No. 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford Michael McDowell
No. 43 Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet Erik Jones
No. 45 23XI Racing Toyota Kurt Busch
No. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
No. 51 Petty Ware Racing Chevrolet Cody Ware and JJ Yeley
No. 66 Motorsports Business Management Ford Timmy Hill
No. 78 Live Fast Motorsports Ford BJ McLeod
No. 94 GMS Racing Chevrolet Ty Dillon