NASCAR hands out suspensions to No. 7 Cup team

NASCAR suspended crew chief Ryan Sparks and crew members Blaine Anderson (front changer) and Allen Hollman (jack) on Tuesday for four championship points events after the No. 7 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet lost a wheel during Sunday’s Ruoff Mortage 500 at Phoenix Raceway.

RELATED: Phoenix Raceway results | NASCAR Cup Series standings

Corey LaJoie hit the wall and lost a wheel in Stage 1 and ended up completing just 45 of the scheduled 312 laps for a last-place finish. The violation fell under Sections of the NASCAR Rule Book: Loss or separation of an improperly installed tire/wheel from the vehicle.

NASCAR also fined two Xfinity Series teams after their cars were found with a single lug nut not secured in post-race inspection on Saturday at Phoenix. Those teams were the No. 18 of Trevor Bayne and the No. 19 of Brandon Jones, with the respective crew chiefs Jason Ratliff and Jeff Meendering receiving $5,000 fines.