The Clash at the Coliseum frontstretch as seen before the 2022 event
Alejandro Alvarez | NASCAR Studios

Busch Light Clash to end under Coliseum lights in 2023

The season-opening Busch Light Clash at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum will have a later start time next year, providing the opportunity to end the exhibition event under the stadium’s lights.

The main event is scheduled to start Sunday, Feb. 5 at 5 p.m. PT (8 p.m. ET), which is a half-hour before the typical sunset time for that time of year in Los Angeles. The move was announced on FOX Sports’ Race Hub news program on Friday night, exactly 100 days until the Clash is set to take center stage.

Last year’s feature was scheduled for a 3 p.m. PT (6 p.m. ET) start time. A full weekend schedule for practice, qualifying and heats for the 2023 Busch Light Clash will be announced at a later time.

NASCAR officials announced June 12 that the exhibition would return for a second edition at the historic LA Coliseum. Joey Logano won the inaugural running on the temporary quarter-mile asphalt track earlier this year.

The Clash was held at Daytona International Speedway from 1979-2021.