Back to News

November 8, 2022

2022 NMPA Most Popular Driver voting opens today

Most Popular Driver Award graphic

Voting for the 2022 National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) Most Popular Driver Award presented by Hooters opened Tuesday, Nov. 8 at noon ET.

Fans can vote for a single driver once daily at or on the mobile app.

Drivers must have declared NASCAR Cup Series points and be eligible for championship contention during the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series racing season to qualify. Voting closes at noon ET on Nov. 30.

Voting can also be done for Most Popular Driver of the Xfinity Series and Most Popular Driver of the Camping World Truck Series.

RELATED: Cup Series standings | List of 2022 Cup Series drivers

The award was first presented to Curtis Turner in 1949 after NASCAR’s inaugural season. The NMPA has presented the award annually since 1983 and the award remains the only major NASCAR award determined solely by fan vote.

Twenty drivers have received the award since the program began. The 1988 Cup Series champion Bill Elliott holds the record for Most Popular Driver Award wins with 16 — 1984-88, 1991-2000 and 2002. Dale Earnhardt Jr. won the award for 15 consecutive seasons (2003-2017).

Chase Elliott of Hendrick Motorsports has won the NMPA Most Popular Driver Award for four consecutive seasons (2018-21).

RELATED: Every NMPA MPD Award winner

Formed in 1965, the National Motorsports Press Association consists of qualified members of the media who report on the sport of auto racing through affiliations with print, radio, television and/or Internet news-gathering organizations. In addition to the NMPA Most Popular Driver Award, the NMPA presents an array of significant honors in auto racing, including the Richard Petty Driver of the Year Award, the Myers Brothers Award, the NMPA Pocono Spirit Award and the Wood Brothers Award of Excellence.

Additional information about the NMPA can be found at